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Welcome to the Ohio Small Business Tax Training Program

Congratulations on starting a new business in Ohio. Getting a new business up and
running can be very challenging, which includes understanding Ohio’s tax laws.

The Ohio Department of Taxation is committed to helping you succeed by making our
tax system as user-friendly as possible. This tax training program is part of that effort.

Our goal with this course is to help you thoroughly understand Ohio’s tax requirements
and to acquaint you with the people and resources we offer to help you successfully
interact with the system and get you the information you need to comply with state tax
laws.

I’'m confident that upon completing this training you’ll have the knowledge you need to
spend less time on tax forms and more time developing your business.

Thank you for your interest and participation in this training, and best wishes for every
success with your business.

Sincerely,

%ﬂ e Uitn”

Jeffery A. McClain
Tax Commissioner
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Sales and Use Tax
Section



What Is Sales Tax?

Sales tax is a “trust” tax that the vendor must collect on all taxable retail sales to Ohio customers. It is called
a “trust” tax because the consumer has entrusted this tax to the vendor with the understanding that the
vendor will report and pay the tax to the state of Ohio in a timely manner. All changes to tax rates and laws
can be found at tax.ohio.gov.

What Is Use Tax?

Use tax is imposed on the storage, use or other consumption of tangible personal property and certain tax-
able services in Ohio. Generally, if you have paid Ohio sales tax to the vendor on your purchases of taxable
tangible personal property or taxable services, then you do not owe Ohio use tax on that transaction.If you
have not paid the full amount of Ohio sales tax to the vendor, then you have a responsibility to remit Ohio
use tax directly to the Ohio Department of Taxation, unless there is an exception or exemption that applies
to the transaction.

What Must | Do To Make Retail Sales in Ohio?

Every Ohio retailer (vendor) must obtain a vendor’s license, collect sales tax, file tax returns with payment
of tax collected and maintain complete records of transactions. All vendor’s license applications are avail-
able online. To apply for any vendor’s license online, you must register on the Ohio Business Gateway
found at ohiobusinessgateway.ohio.gov. Online applications are processed immediately. All vendor’s
license applications have a $25 fee that can be paid by ACH online.

> Paper applications can be downloaded from tax.ohio.gov. The $25 fee must accompany the applica-
tion. You will need to allow 4-6 weeks to process the paper application.

» You can obtain a County vendor’s license from the County Auditor’s office where the business is lo-
cated. Transient Vendor’s licenses cannot be obtained here.

Please note that you cannot file a Sales Tax return until your vendor’s license has been issued.

How Do | Get Forms? Where May | Get Assistance if | Need Help?
You may get applications, forms and help by contacting the Department of Taxation via:

> Internet/E-mail

tax.ohio.gov

» Forms Request Line 1-800-282-1782
Phone (general business) 1-888-405-4039
Phone (registration) 1-888-405-4089
Fax 1-614-387-1851

» Walk-in Help
Ohio Department of Taxation
Taxpayer Service Center
4485 Northland Ridge Blvd.
Columbus, Ohio 43229-6596

» Written Correspondence
Ohio Department of Taxation
Taxpayer Services Division
P.O. Box 182215
Columbus, Ohio 43218-2215



Are There Different Vendors’ Licenses for Different Types of Business?

Yes. All vendors must get one or more licenses depending on the nature of their business. \

Businesses with a fixed location and those that provide taxable services must obtain a County Vendors
License.

Businesses that take their goods to various locations (trade shows, flea markets, etc.) must obtain a Tran-
sient Vendors License.

What Is a Taxable Sale?

A taxable sale is any transaction in which title or possession of tangible personal property or the benefit of
certain services is, or will be, transferred or provided for a price. All retail sales are subject to the tax unless
they are specifically exempted in Ohio’s sales tax law (R.C. 5739).

What Services Are Subject to the Sales Tax?

Some services are subject to sales tax in the state of Ohio. If you sell services, you need to charge tax on
the price of the service provided (see Exhibit 1, Services Subject to Sales Tax in Ohio, on page 6).

What Sales Are Exempted/Excepted From Sales and Use Tax?

Every tax has exceptions and/or exemptions. Generally speaking, exemptions are enacted to do some per-
ceived social good or to make the tax more “fair” (see Exhibit 2, Sales Exempted or Excepted from Sales
and Use Tax, on page 7).

What Should | Do if My Customer Claims the Purchase Is Exempt From the Tax?

All retail sales are presumed to be subject to sales tax. Each vendor must charge sales tax on all retail
sales unless the purchaser provides a fully completed exemption certificate stating the reason for exemp-
tion. Ohio does not assign exemption numbers. The vendor must retain the exemption in its records to
document the exempt sales. Exemption certificate forms are prescribed by the tax commissioner and can
be obtained on the department’s Web site at tax.ohio.gov. For more information, see Ohio Administrative
Code 5703-9-03 (Exhibit 4, 5703-9-03 Sales and Use Tax: Exemption Certificate Forms, on page 13). A
copy of the purchaser’s vendor’s license is not required to claim exemption, nor is a vendor’s license an
acceptable substitute for a fully completed exemption certificate.

Exemption certificates are not required when the item sold is never taxable, such as prescription drugs or
food sold for off-premises consumption. Also, certificates are not needed if the purchaser is clearly identified
on the invoice as an exempt entity, such as federal, state or local governments.

How and When Is the Tax Collected?

Vendors must charge and collect the sales tax at the rate in effect in the county where the sale is made or
obtain a fully completed exemption certificate. Tax on motor vehicles, watercraft and outboard motors is
paid to the Clerk of Courts at the rate in effect in the purchaser’s county of residence.

Taxable telecommunications services, automatic data processing and computer services, landscaping and
lawn-care service, private investigation and security service, information service (1-900 telephone calls),
building maintenance and janitorial service, exterminating service, employment service and employment
placement services, satellite-broadcasting service and snow-removal service are taxed at the county rate
where the service is received.

The tax applies when the sale is made, NOT at some future date when payment is received.



Example: If a vendor makes a sale on credit in January, but the money is not received until February, the
tax must be reported and sent in with the January return.

Vendors that fail to remit taxes collected, make retail sales without having a vendor’s license, or make retail
sales while the vendor’s license is suspended or revoked may be subject to assessment, fines and criminal
penalties.

What Is the State Sales Tax Rate?

The current state sales tax rate is 5.75%. Local tax rates are charged in addition to the state rate.

What Are the Local Sales Tax Rates?

Counties and regional transit authorities may each levy sales tax in increments of .10% up to 1.5%. The
total combined rate — state, county and transit authority — may not exceed 8.5%. A county or transit authority
that has enacted a permissive sales tax must also enact a use tax. Tax rates can be found at tax.ohio.gov.

Who Is Ultimately Responsible for Paying the Tax?

The tax is imposed on the consumer. However, the department may assess either the vendor or the con-
sumer. The department cannot assess both the vendor and the consumer for unpaid tax on the same
transactions.

What if | Receive an Assessment for Unpaid Taxes?

An assessment is a formal bill from the department for taxes underpaid or not paid, interest and penalties.
Assessments are delivered by certified mail or personally by agents of the department. Prior to issuing the
assessment, the department will provide the taxpayer a written description of the basis for the assessment.
A taxpayer has 60 days from the date the assessment is received to object to the assessment. Complete
instructions for filing a petition for reassessment are included with each assessment.

If you appeal the assessment, the department conducts an administrative review of your claim and issues a
final determination. You have the right to appeal the final determination to the Board of Tax Appeals (BTA).
The BTA is an independent agency that reviews the assessment and the final determination.

What Records Must | Keep and for How Long?
Each vendor must maintain complete and accurate records, which include both:

» Primary records such as purchase invoices, bills of lading, sales invoices, guest checks, exemption
certificates, tax-payment receipts and cash-register tapes; and

» Secondary records such as bank-deposit receipts and day books, journals or any other records in which
accumulated data is recorded.

Vendors must retain primary and secondary records for at least four years with the exception of food-
service operators. These records must include fully completed exemption certificates for each exempt sale.
Certificates must be maintained indefinitely. Certificates may need to be updated periodically based on
law changes. It is suggested that these certificates be filed alphabetically for easier reference.

Food-service operators who have not been convicted of a criminal violation are permitted the option of
keeping 14 days of sales records per calendar quarter in lieu of records of all sales from their food-service
operation. If a food-service operator elects not to retain the records of all their sales, the records of sales
made on 14 days out of each quarter as specified by the tax commissioner after the quarter is over are
required to be kept for the four-year statutory period.

How Do | File My Sales Tax Return?



All vendors are required to file sales tax returns electronically.

The department offers two ways to electronically file a sales tax return:

Ohio Business Gateway
Electronic filing is available for all sales tax vendors through the Ohio Business Gateway. The Ohio Busi-

ness Gateway is a Web site that enables vendors to electronically file returns with several Ohio agencies.
You must register at gateway.ohio.gov to use the online system. Payment may be made by ACH debit, cred-
it card or check. If you are a new vendor, you will not be able to file a return until the department completes
the processing of your license application. A confirmation notice will be mailed to you once this process is
complete if you have registered by paper. If you applied on the Ohio Business Gateway, you will be able to
print your confirmation and file immediately.

TeleFile

TeleFile is available for vendors who have a regular county vendor’s license (license nhumber which be-
gins with 01 — 88) and are filing for a single county. Only vendors with this account type and a touch-tone
telephone are able to use the TeleFile system.. Your two-digit TIN (found on your registration confirmation
letter, a previously filed paper return or by calling the department’s taxpayer services at 1-888-405-4039)
is required in order to TeleFile. In order to file by TeleFile you should have the following information ready:
your sales figures, including total gross sales and exempt sales (if any), the amount of tax collected and
your bank or credit card account information. Instructions and worksheets are available on our Web site at
tax.ohio.gov. Call 1-800-697-0440 to TeleFile.

What Information Do | Need to File My Sales Tax Return?

In order to file your sales tax return, you should have the following information ready: your vendor’s license
number, gross sales, exempt sales (if any), the amount of tax collected for the filing period and the county
in which the sales were made. Sellers of licensed motor vehicles, trailers and/or registered watercraft must
know the amount of sales tax paid to each county clerk of courts at the time of the registration.

See exhibits 9, 10 and 11 — UST 1 TeleFile worksheets and instructions — for more information regarding
filing sales tax returns.
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Services Subject to Sales Tax in Ohio

Services covered by a county vendor’s license:

V V ¥V ¥V VWV VY ¥V V V V

A\

YV V V V

Automatic data-processing, computer and electronic-information services provided for use in business.
Building maintenance and janitorial services (if annual sales equal or exceed $5,000).

Landscaping and lawn-care service (if annual sales equal or exceed $5,000).

Provision of employment placement service.

Provision of employment service.

Provision of exterminating service.

Provision of information service (1-900 telephone calls).

Provision of private investigation or security service.

Satellite-broadcasting service, both audio and video.

Snow-removal service provided by any mechanized means, excluding provision of such service by a
person that has less than $5,000 in sales of such service in a calendar year.

Taxable telecommunication services.

Cleaning towels, linen or clothing used in a trade or business.
Installation of tangible personal property (except installation of property exempt from sales tax).
Laundry and dry-cleaning service, excluding sales made through self-service facilities.

Personal-care service, including skin care, application of cosmetics, manicures, pedicures, hair remov-
al, tattoos, body piercing, tanning, massage and other similar services. It does not include the cutting,
coloring or styling of an individual’s hair, or service provided by or on the order of a licensed physician
or licensed chiropractor.

» Provision of physical-fitness facility service.

» Provision of recreation and sport-club service.

» Rental of hotel rooms or similar sleeping accommodations for less than 30 consecutive days by estab-

lishments with five or more sleeping rooms.

Repair of tangible personal property (except repair of property that is exempt from sales tax).

» Storage service for tangible personal property, except such property that the consumer of the storage

holds for sale in the regular course of business.

Towing service for motor vehicles.

» Transportation of persons by motor vehicle or aircraft within Ohio, except by public transit systems,

ambulance or commercial airlines.

Washing (except coin-operated), cleaning, waxing, polishing or painting of motor vehicles.



Sales Exempted or Excepted From Sales and Use Tax
(With Ohio Revised Code References)

» Tangible personal property to be resold in the form received. [5739.01(E)]
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Material incorporated as a part of tangible personal property produced for sale by manufacturing, as-
sembling, processing or refining. [5739.02(B)(43)(a)]

Tangible personal property used or consumed primarily in a manufacturing operation for sale. [5739.02(B)
(43)(9)]

To use tangible personal property to perform a service listed in division (B)(3) of this section, if the
property is or is to be permanently transferred to the consumer of the service as an integral part of the
performance of the service. [5739.02(B)(42)(a)]

“Direct use” exemptions:

» Material used or consumed directly in mining, farming, agriculture, horticulture, floriculture or used in
the production of and exploration for crude oil and natural gas. [5739.02(B)(42)(g)]

» Tangible personal property used directly in rendering a public utility service. [5739.02(B)(42)(a)]

» Tangible personal property used or consumed in the preparation for sale of printed material.
[6739.02(B)(42)(f)]

Copyrighted motion picture films for exhibition purposes unless solely used for advertising. (The rental
or sale of films or tapes to individuals is taxable.) [5739.01(B)(7)]

Food for human consumption off the premises where sold. [5739.02(B)(2)]

Food sold to students in a dormitory, school cafeteria, fraternity or sorority house. [5739.02(B)(3)]
Food served without charge to employees as part of their compensation. [5739.02(B)(5)]

Items purchased with food stamps. [5739.02(B)(16)]

Newspapers. [5739.02(B)(4)]

Magazine subscriptions sent by second class mail (subject to sales tax Jan. 1, 2014). [5739.02(B)(4)]

Sales by churches and nonprofit charitable organizations (excluding sales of motor vehicles and house
trailers) not exceeding six days in any calendar year. [5739.02(B)(9)]

Sales of personal computers, computer monitors, computer keyboards, modems and other peripheral
computer equipment to an individual who is licensed or certified to teach in an elementary or a second-
ary school in this state for use by that individual in preparation for teaching elementary or secondary
school students. [5739.02(B)(37)]

Iltems of property that are attached to or incorporated in motor racing vehicles, including engines, chas-
sis and all other components of the vehicles, and all spare, replacement and rebuilt parts or compo-
nents of the vehicles; except not including tires, consumable fluids, paint and accessories consisting of
instrumentation sensors and related items added to the vehicle to collect and transmit data by means of
telemetry and other forms of communication. [5739.02(B)(38)]

Sales to nonprofit organizations operated exclusively in Ohio for certain charitable purposes as defined
in sales tax law. [5739.02(B)(12)]

Sales to churches. [5739.02(B)(12)]

Sales to organizations exempt from taxation under Section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code of
1986. [5739.02(B)(12)]



Sales to veterans’ organization state headquarters. [5739.02(B)(33)]

» Sales to a telecommunications service vendor, mobile telecommunications service vendor or satellite-

YV V V V

broadcasting service vendor of tangible personal property and services used directly and primarily in
transmitting, receiving, switching or recording any interactive, one- or two-way electromagnetic com-
munications, including voice, image, data and information, through the use of any medium, including,
but not limited to, poles, wires, cables, switching equipment, computers and record-storage devices and
media, and component parts for the tangible personal property. The exemption provided in this division
shall be in lieu of all other exemptions under division (B)(43)(a) of this section to which the vendor may
otherwise be entitled, based upon the use of the thing purchased in providing the telecommunications,
mobile telecommunications or satellite-broadcasting service. [5739.02(B)(34)]

Drugs that are or are intended to be distributed free of charge to a practitioner licensed to prescribe,
dispense and administer drugs to a human being in the course of a professional practice and that by law
may be dispensed only by or upon the order of such a practitioner. [5741.02(C)(7)] (NOTE: This use tax
exemption will be effective on or after July 1, 2001. Prior to July 1, 2001, drugs distributed free of charge
are subject to use tax.)

Sales of animals by nonprofit animal shelters and county humane societies. [5739.02(B)(28)]
Sales to U.S. government agencies. [5739.02(B)(10)]
Sales to the state of Ohio or any of its political subdivisions. [5739.02(B)(1)]

Casual sales except sales of motor vehicles, boat and outboard motors that are required to be titled,
snowmobiles, documented boats and all-purpose vehicles. [5739.02(B)(8)]

Motor vehicles sold in Ohio to nonresidents for immediate removal and titling outside the state.
[56739.02(B)(23)]

» Motor vehicle fuel subject to the state motor fuel tax. [5739.02(B)(6)]

Motor vehicles and parts used for transporting tangible personal property by persons engaged in high-
way transportation for hire. [6739.02(B)(32)].

Emergency and fire-protection vehicles and equipment used by nonprofit organizations in providing
emergency and fire-protection services for political subdivisions. [5739.02(B)(20)]

The transfer of a used manufactured home or used mobile home, as defined in R.C. 5739.021, made on
or after Jan. 1, 2000. [5741.02(C)(6)

Sales of drugs for a human being, dispensed pursuant to a prescription; insulin as recognized in the
official United States pharmacopoeia; urine and blood-testing materials when used by diabetics or per-
sons with hypoglycemia to test for glucose or acetone; hypodermic syringes and needles when used
by diabetics for insulin injections; epoetin alfa when purchased for use in the treatment of persons with
medical disease; hospital beds when purchased for use by persons with medical problems for medical
purposes; and medical oxygen and medical oxygen-dispensing equipment when purchased for use by
persons with medical problems for medical purposes;

Sales of prosthetic devices, durable medical equipment for home use or mobility-enhancing equipment
when made pursuant to a prescription and when such devices or equipment are for use by a human
being. [5739.02(B)(18)&(19)]

Tangible personal property used in air, noise or water pollution-control facilities by holders of pollution
control certificates. [5709.25 & 6111.31]

Tangible personal property used or consumed in commercial fishing. [5739.01(E)(6)]
Gas, water, steam and electricity delivered through pipes, conduits or wires and sold by a public utility.
[6739.02(B)(7)]

Bulk water for residential use. This does not include bottled water, mineral water, carbonated water or
ice. [5739.02(B)(25)(a)]
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Sales of water by a nonprofit corporation engaged exclusively in the treatment, distribution and sale of
water to consumers, if such water is delivered to consumers through pipes or tubing. [5739.02(B)(25)

(b)]

Tangible personal property incorporated into an energy-conversion facility, solid waste energy-con-
version facility or a thermal-efficiency improvement facility by holders of the appropriate certificate.
[5709.50]

Sales of property for use directly in agricultural production. [5739.02(B)(17)]

Sales of services provided by the state or any of its political subdivisions, agencies, instrumentalities,
institutions or authorities. [5739.02(B)(22)]

Property used in the preparation of eggs for sale. [5739.02(B)(24)]
Sales and installation of agricultural land title. [5739.02(B)(30)]
Sales and construction of portable grain bins to farmers. [5739.02(B)(31)]

Sales to persons licensed to conduct a food-service operation pursuant to R.C. section 3732.03; of tan-
gible personal property primarily used directly: (a) to prepare food for human consumption for sale; (b)
to preserve food that has been or will be prepared for human consumption for sale by the food service
operation, not including tangible personal property used to display food for selection by the consumer;
and (c) to clean tangible personal property used to prepare or serve food for human consumption for
sale. [5739.02(B)(27)]

Ships or vessels or rail rolling stock used for interstate or foreign commerce and material used for repair-
ing, altering or propelling them. [5739.02(B)(14)]

Material, machinery, equipment and other items used in packaging property for sale by a manufacturer
or retailer. [5739.02(B)(15)]

Building and construction material sold to contractors for incorporation into real property of federal, state
of Ohio or any of its political subdivisions, or religious and charitable institutions, organizations exempt
from taxation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 when the building is to be
used exclusively for the organization’s exempt purposes, or original construction of a sports facility un-
der R.C. section 307.696. [5739.02(B)(13)]

Building and construction materials and services sold to contractors for incorporation into exempt real
property located in another state. [5739.02(B)(13)]

Building and construction materials sold to construction contractors or persons engaged in the busi-
ness of horticulture or producing livestock for incorporation into a horticulture or livestock structure.
[6739.02(B)(13)&(36)]

Property manufactured in Ohio and immediately shipped outside the state for use in retail business, if
sold by the manufacturer to the retailer and shipped in vehicles owned by the retailer. [5739.02(B)(21)]

To use the thing transferred as qualified research and development equipment. [5739.02(B)(42)(i)]
Motor vehicle inspection or reinspection fees under R.C. section 3704.14. [5739.02(B)(26)]

» Sales where the purpose of the consumer is to use or consume the things transferred in making retail

sales and consisting of newspaper inserts, catalogues, coupons, fliers, gift certificates or other advertis-
ing material that prices and describes tangible personal property offered for retail sale. [5739.02(B)(35)(a)]

Sales to direct marketing vendors or preliminary materials such as photographs, artwork and typeset-
ting that will be used in printing advertising material; of printed matter that offers free merchandise or
chances to win sweepstakes prizes and that is mailed to potential customers with advertising material
described in division (B)(35)(a) of this section; and of equipment such as telephones, computers, fac-
simile machines and similar tangible personal property primarily used to accept orders for direct market-
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ing retail sales. [5739.02(B)(35)(b)]

NOTE: For purposes of 5739.02(B)(35)(b), “direct marketing” means the method of selling where con-
sumers order tangible personal property by United States mail, delivery service or telecommunication
and the vendor delivers or ships the tangible personal property sold to the consumer from a warehouse,
catalogue distribution center or similar fulfillment facility by means of the United States mail, delivery
service or common carrier.

» Sales of automatic food-vending machines that preserve food with a shelf life of 45 days or less by re-
frigeration and dispense it to the customer. [5739.02(B)(36)(d)]

» Sales to a person engaged in the business of horticulture or producing livestock of materials to be incor-
porated into a horticulture structure or livestock structure. [5739.02(B)(36)]

» Things that are used or consumed in fulfillment of warranties. [5739.01(B)(7)]

» Repairs to tangible personal property, the purchase of which would be exempt from the tax imposed by
R.C. section 5739.02. [5739.01(B)(3)(a)]

> Sales of used manufactured homes and used mobile homes, as defined in R.C. section 5739.0210,
made on or after Jan. 1, 2000. [5739.02(B)(39)

» Sales of tangible personal property and services to a provider of electricity used or consumed directly
and primarily in generating, transmitting or distributing electricity for use by others, including property
that is or is to be incorporated into and will become a part of the consumer’s production, transmission
or distribution system and that retains its classification as tangible personal property after incorporation;
fuel or power used in the production, transmission or distribution of electricity; and tangible personal
property and services used in the repair and maintenance of the production, transmission or distribu-
tion system, including only those motor vehicles as are specially designed and equipped for such use.
The exemption provided in this division shall be in lieu of all other exceptions in division (E)(2) of R.C.
section 5739.01 to which a provider of electricity may otherwise be entitled based on the use of tangible
personal property or service purchased in generating, transmitting or distributing electricity. [5739.02(B)
(40)]

» Coin-operated car wash. [5739.02(B)(43)

» Parts and services used in repairing and maintaining aircraft with fractional share ownership (private
aircraft whose ownership is shared by a group of people). [5739.02(B)(44)

» Sales of telecommunications service that is used directly and primarily to perform the functions of a call
center. [5739.02(B)(45)

For the purpose of the proper administration of this chapter, and to prevent the evasion of the tax, it is pre-
sumed that all sales made in this state are subject to the tax until the contrary is established.

NOTE: This list of exemptions is merely an abbreviation of the law. The statutes and rules concerning sales
tax exemptions are very long and complicated. Also, there are hundreds of court decisions that affect the
application of these exemptions.

If you have any questions regarding a particular situation, please contact the Ohio Department of Taxation
by calling 1-888-405-4039.

The current list can be found by clicking here for Sales and Use Frequently Asked Questions.
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Sales and Use Tax Rules Index

5703-9-24 Household good movers engaged in highway transportation for hire

5703-9-25 Watercraft, outboard motors and personal watercraft

5703-9-26  Telecommunications service, sourcing for private communications services

5703-9-27 Sale of food to students by public, private and parochial schools, colleges and universities

5703-9-28 Sales and use tax: newspapers and magazines

5703-9-29  Outdoor advertising concerns

5703-9-30  Auctions and auctioneers

5703-9-31  Florists

5703-9-32 Sales and use tax: funeral transactions

5703-9-33  Photographers

5703-9-34  Sign manufacturers, sign painters and sales agents

5703-9-35 Purchases, as a liquidator of closed institutions, by superintendents of insurance, banks,
and building and loan associations

5703-9-37 Sales and use tax: tire retreading and repairs

5703-9-38 Photostats and blue prints

5703-9-39 Interstate commerce

5703-9-40 Sales of personalty belonging to another

5703-9-41  Person engaged in advertising field

5703-9-42 Installation or sale of septic tanks

5703-9-43 Books, manuals, bulletins, lists or similar materials

5703-9-44 Bad debts

5703-9-45 Sales; alleged exempt sales; submission of additional evidence

5703-9-46  Sales and use taxes: automatic data processing and computer services

5703-9-47  Cash register adjustment reimbursement

5703-9-48  Sales tax; purchases made with food stamp coupons

5703-9-49  Corporate officer liability

5703-9-50 Registration using central registration system

5703-9-51  County and transit authority rates and boundary database

5703-9-52  Delivery charges

5703-9-53  Rate changes; application of effective date to services

5703-9-54  Taxability matrix

5703-9-55 Sales and use tax: change in state tax rate

5703-9-56  Streamlined sales and use tax: review and approval of certified automated system software
and liability relief

5703-9-57  Relief from liability for certified service providers where the consumer claims exemption

5703-9-58 Sales and use tax: relief from liability for purchasers

5703-9-59  Sales and use tax: transactions involving optional computer software maintenance contracts

5703-9-01 [Rescinded] Vendor’s license requirements

5703-9-02 Maintenance of records

5703-9-03  Sales and use tax; exemption certificate forms

5703-9-04 Use tax; taxable use of tangible personal property manufactured for sale or purchased for
resale

5703-9-05 Transactions where tangible personal property is or is to be stored

5703-9-06  Imposition of tax on transportation services

5703-9-07  Application for refund of sales and use taxes

5703-9-08 Sales and use tax; authority to predetermine (prepay) or prearrange sales tax

5703-9-09 [Rescinded] Return by vendor operating more than one place of business

5703-9-10  Motor vehicles, off-highway motorcycles, and all-purpose vehicles; tax payment or exemp-
tion claim required for certificate of title

5703-9-11  Returned merchandise and rejected services

5703-9-12 Exchanged merchandise

5703-9-13  Sales and use tax; reporting periods
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5703-9-14
5703-9-15
5703-9-16
5703-9-17
5703-9-18
5703-9-19
5703-9-20
5703-9-21
5703-9-22
5703-9-23

5703-9-24
5703-9-25

5703-9-26
5703-9-27
5703-9-28
5703-9-29
5703-9-30
5703-9-31
5703-9-32
5703-9-33
5703-9-34
5703-9-35

5703-9-36
5703-9-37
5703-9-38
5703-9-39
5703-9-40
5703-9-41
5703-9-42
5703-9-43
5703-9-44
5703-9-45
5703-9-46
5703-9-47
5703-9-48
5703-9-49
5703-9-50
5703-9-51
5703-9-52
5703-9-53
5703-9-54
5703-9-55
5703-9-56

Sales and use tax; construction contracts; exemption certificates

Sales and use tax; coupons, coupon books, and gift certificates

Affiliated group

Conditional sales

Definition of subscriber for satellite broadcasting service

Installment and credit sales

Sales and use tax; production or fabrication of tangible personal property

Sales and use tax; manufacturing

Personalty used or consumed directly in mining

Exemption for tangible personal property used or consumed in farming, agriculture, horticulture or
floriculture

Household good movers engaged in highway transportation for hire

Watercraft, outboard motors, and personal watercraft; tax payment or exemption claim required for
certificate of title; remittance of tax by clerk of courts

Sourcing ancillary services and internet access

Sale of food to students by public, private and parochial schools, colleges and universities

Sales and use tax: newspapers and magazines

Outdoor advertising concerns

Auctions and auctioneers

Florists

Sales and use tax: funeral transactions

Photographers

Sign manufacturers, sign painters and sales agents

Purchases, as a liquidator of closed institutions, by superintendents of insurance, banks, and build-
ing and loan associations

Sales and use tax, negative equity in motor vehicle sales and leases

Sales and use tax: tire retreading and repairs

Photocopying and blue prints

Interstate commerce

Sales of personalty belonging to another

Person engaged in advertising field

Installation or sale of septic tanks

Books, manuals, bulletins, lists or similar materials

Bad debts

Sales; alleged exempt sales; submission of additional evidence

Sales and use taxes: automatic data processing, computer services, and electronic information services
[Rescinded] Cash register adjustment reimbursement

Sales tax; purchases made with food stamp coupons

Corporate officer liability

Registration using central registration system

County and transit authority rates and boundary database

Delivery charges

Rate changes; application of effective date to services

Taxability matrix

Sales and use tax, change in state tax rate

Streamlined sales and use tax - review and approval of certified automated system software and liabil-
ity relief

5703-9-57 Relief from liability for certified service providers where the consumer claims exemption
5703-9-58 Sales and use tax, relief of liability for purchasers

5703-9-59 Sales and use tax, transactions involving optional computer software maintenance contracts
5703-9-60 Consumer’s use tax amnesty payment plan

5703-9-61 Electronic filing and payment of “Consumer’s Use Tax”

The full list and information can be found at http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/5703-9.
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5703-9-03 Sales and Use Tax: Exemption Certificate Forms

(A)  As used in this rule, “exception” refers to transactions excluded from the definition of retail sale by
division (E) of section 5739.01 of the Ohio Revised Code (R.C.). “Exemption” refers to retail sales not
subject to the tax pursuant to division (B) section 5739.02 of the Revised Code.

(B)(1) If a purchaser claims that tax does not apply to a transaction, the purchaser must provide a fully
completed exemption certificate to the vendor or seller. The exemption certificate may be provided
electronically or in hard copy. The vendor must retain the fully completed exemption certificate in its
files.

(2) Exemption certificate forms are available on the department’s website at tax.ohio.gov. The forms may
be reproduced as needed. Substitute exemption certificates may be developed and used as long as
they contain the data elements prescribed in paragraph (D) of this rule.

(C)(1) If a vendor, seller, or consumer is purchasing a motor vehicle, a watercraft that is required to be titled,
or an outboard motor that is required to be titled and is claiming exemption from the sales and use
tax based on a reason other than resale, the vendor, seller, or consumer must comply with rule 5703-
9-10 or 5703-9-25 of the Administrative Code.

(2) If a construction contractor is claiming exemption from sales or use tax on the purchase of materials
for incorporation into real property, the construction contractor must comply with rule 5703-9-14 of
the Administrative Code.

(D) An exemption certificate is fully completed if it contains the following data elements:

(1) The purchaser’s name and business address,

(2) A tax identification (e.g. vendor’s license or consumer’s use tax account) for the purchaser issued by
this state, if any,

(3) The purchaser’s type of business or organization,

(4) The reason for the claimed exemption, and

(5) If the certificate is in hard copy, the signature of the purchaser.

If any of these elements is missing the exemption certificate is invalid.

(E) The following form, located on the department’s website at http://tax.ohio.gov/Forms, is incorporated
in this rule by reference: “Certificate of Exemption - Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement,”
revised August 2009.

Replaces: 5703-9-03

Cite as Ohio Admin. Code 5703-9-03

Effective: 09/13/2014

R.C. 119.032 review dates: 09/13/2019

Promulgated Under: 5703.14

Statutory Authority: 5703.05

Rule Amplifies: 5739.01, 5739.02, 5739.03, 5741.02

Prior Effective Dates: 10/5/76, 11/18/78, 7/2/81, 10/18/82, 7/13/92, 6/11/04, 11/29/10

(H) The following forms are incorporated in this rule by reference:

(1) The unit exemption certificate, revised March 15, 2004;
(2) The blanket exemption certificate, revised March 15, 2004.
Effective: 6-11-04
Promulgated under: 5703.14
Authorized by: 5703.05, 5739.03, 5741.02
Amplifies: 5739.01, 5739.02, 5739.03, 5741.02
Prior effective dates: 10-5-76, 11-18-78, 7-2-81, 10-18-82, 7-13-92
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(A)

(B)

(©)

5703-9-14 Sales and Use Tax: Construction Contracts,
Exemption Certificates

A “construction contract” is any agreement, written or oral, pursuant to which tangible personal prop-
erty is or is to be transferred and incorporated into real property, as defined in section 5701.02 of the
Revised Code, so as to become a part thereof without regard to whether it is new construction or an
addition to or alteration of an existing building or structure. A “construction contractor” is any person
who performs such an agreement, whether as prime contractor or subcontractor.

Tangible personal property that is permanently affixed to real property, but that primarily benefits
the business conducted on the premises by the occupant, is a “business fixture,” as defined in sec-
tion 5701.03 of the Revised Code, and retains its status as personal property after such affixation is
made. An agreement to transfer and install a business fixture is a sale and not a construction con-
tract.

The transfer and affixation of personal property where title to the personal property does not transfer
to the owner or lessee of the premises is a sale and not a construction contract. The item affixed
remains personal property since the failure to transfer title displays an intention not to make the af-
fixation permanent.

Tangible personal property that is temporarily affixed during construction, such as temporary electric-
ity or water service hook-ups, fencing, construction elevators, shoring lumber, and concrete forms, is
not incorporated into real property for sales and use tax purposes. This applies even if these items
remain affixed after construction is completed due to inavertence, convenience, or economic neces-
sity.

The sale and installation of the following items is never a construction contract and such transactions
are to be treated as the sale and installation of tangible personal property for sales tax purposes:

(1) Carpeting, including carpet padding, tack strips, adhesive and similar materials that are integral and

necessary components of a carpet installation transaction;

(2) Agricultural land tile as defined in division (B)(5)(a) of R.C. section 5739.01;
(3) Portable grain bins as defined in division (B)(5)(b) of R.C. section 5739.01; and

(4) Trees, shrubs, sod, seed, fertilizer, mulch and other tangible personal property transferred as part of

a landscaping and lawn care service as defined in division (DD) of R.C. section 5739.01.

This provision shall not be construed to alter or affect the classification of such items after installation is
completed.

(D)(1) A construction contractor who purchases materials or taxable services for incorporation into real

property is the consumer of those materials or services and shall pay sales or use tax on their pur-
chase price, except as provided by paragraph (F) of this rule. The construction contractor is the con-
sumer, even if a subcontractor provides the actual labor to incorporate those materials into the real
property. Nevertheless, a construction contractor may purchase exempt from tax those materials or
services that will be incorporated:

(a) Into real property under a construction contract with the United States government or its agencies,
the state of Ohio, or an Ohio political subdivision;

(b) Into real property that is owned, or will be accepted for ownership at the time of completion, by the
United States government or its agencies, the state of Ohio, or an Ohio political subdivision;

(c) Into a house of public worship or religious education or a building used exclusively for charitable
purposes by a nonprofit organization operated exclusively for charitable purposes as defined in
division (B)(12) of section 5739.02 of the Revised Code;

(d) Into the original construction of a sports facility under section 307.696 of the Revised Code;

(e) Into real property in another state, if the materials or services, when sold to a construction con-
tractor in that state for incorporation into real property in that state, would be exempt from a tax on
sales levied in that state;
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(f) Into a horticulture structure or livestock structure as defined in section 5739.01 of the Revised
Code for a person engaged in the business of horticulture or producing livestock; or

(9) Into a hospital facility entitled to exemption under section 140.08 of the Revised Code.

(2) When claiming exemption under paragraph (D)(1) of this rule, the contractee and contractor must is-

sue exemption certificates in accordance with paragraphs (I) and (J) of this rule. The contractee shall
be deemed to be the consumer of all materials and services purchased under the claim of exemption
and liable for the tax on the incorporated materials or services in the event the tax commissioner
ascertains that the contractee was not entitled to exemption.

A construction contractor who also makes substantial sales of the same types of tangible personal
property that the contractor incorporates into real property in performing construction contracts may
purchase those types of tangible personal property excepted from sales and use tax on the basis of
resale under division (E) of section 5739.01 of the Revised Code. The contractor, unless granted di-
rect payment authority, must have a consumer’s use tax account with the department of taxation and
accrue and pay use tax on the price of all materials consumed in performing construction contracts,
in accordance with rule 5703-9-04 of the Administrative Code.

Similarly, a construction contractor who purchases materials without payment of the tax because
the contractee has claimed an exemption under paragraph (D) of this rule must pay use tax on any
materials not used on the exempt job and consumed by the contractor in a taxable manner.

(F)(1) A person who manufactures or fabricates items of tangible personal property, and then sells some of

(G)

the items and incorporates some into real property, must elect whether to be treated as a manufac-
turer or as a construction contractor on the purchase of raw materials incorporated into the manufac-
tured items. The manufacturer/construction contractor need not notify the tax commissioner of such
election and may elect to treat purchases of raw materials for distinct manufactured items differently.
However, complete records must be maintained to show how the person elected to treat each pur-
chase of raw materials.

(a) If the person elects to be treated as a manufacturer, the purchase of all raw materials may be
exempted from the tax on the basis that they will be incorporated as a material or part into an item
manufactured for sale under division (B)(43)(a) of section 5739.02 of the Revised Code. The manu-
facturer must accrue and pay use tax on the price of any self-manufactured item subsequently con-
sumed in performing a taxable construction contract, or in any other taxable manner, in accordance
with paragraph (A) of rule 5703-9-21 of the Administrative Code.

(b) If the person elects to be treated as a construction contractor, the person must pay sales or use
tax on the acquisition cost of all raw materials, unless such materials are ultimately consumed in
performing a nontaxable construction contract under paragraph (D) of this rule. The construction
contractor must pay sales or use tax on all raw materials, and no refund of such tax will be allowed,
even though the raw materials are incorporated into an item manufactured for sale. If such sale is a
retati1l tsale, th$ construction contractor is acting as vendor and must appropriately collect sales tax on
such transaction.

(2) The election required by paragraph (F)(1) of this rule applies only to the purchase of raw materials

that will become parts or components of manufactured items. Machinery and equipment used by
the person in manufacturing shall be taxed based upon its quantified prlmar?/ use without regard to
how the manufacturer/construction contractor elects to treat the raw materials for sales and use tax
purposes.

The contractee may, or upon request of the contractor pursuant to the procedure specified in divi-
sion (C) of section 5739.03 of the Revised Code shall, certify to the contractor what portions of a
contract will be, at the completion of the contract, classified as personal property and what portions
will be classified as real property. The fact that a certification has been made by the contractee must
be noted in every written construction contract, and the contractor, subcontractors, and contractee
shall each maintain a COPK of the certification with the job documentation. If the tax commissioner
subsequently determines that property certified by the contractee as personal property is, in fact, real
property, the contractee shall be deemed the consumer of all materials incorporated into such real
property and may be assessed sales or use tax thereon along with applicable interest and penalty.

The certification of the contractee has application only to the tangible personal property installed or
incorporated pursuant to the contract. Equipment, tools, and supplies used by the contractor in per-
forming the contract shall be taxed based upon their primary use without regard to the contractee’s
certification.
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(H)

(1)

Machinery, equipment, tools, supplies, and other tangible personal property purchased or leased by
a construction contractor and used or consumed in performing a construction contract, including a
contract specified in paragraph (D) of this rule, are taxable. The repair or installation of these items
also is taxable.

A contractee claiming an exemption specified in paragraph (D) of this rule must complete and deliver
to the contractor a construction contract exemption certificate. If the contractee is a governmental
entity, a government official must sign under the “political subdivision” section of the certificate. All
other contractees claiming exemption must sign under the “owner/contractee” section. If there is one
prime contractor on the job, the contractee need only supply one exemption certificate to the prime
contractor.

The contractor should make copies of the construction contract exemption certificate signed by the
contractee and use those copies when making purchases of materials that will be incorporated into
real property pursuant to the construction contract. A prime contractor must provide copies to all sub-
contractors for their use in purchasing materials for the job. The contractor or subcontractor must sign
each certificate copy used when purchasing materials.

The original exemption certificate must be retained in the records of the contractor. A copy of the
certificate also must be retained in the records of each subcontractor.

(2) Rather than using copies of the construction contract exemption certificate when making purchases

()

of materials, the contractor or subcontractor may use a contractor’s exemption certificate when pur-
chasing materials for incorporation into real property pursuant to a contract where the contractee
claims exemption under paragraph (D) of this rule.

Forms required to be prescribed by rule are hereby prescribed for use as a construction contract ex-
emption certificate and as a contractor’s exemption certificate. The forms may be obtained from the
department of taxation and are available on the department’s web site. They may be reproduced as
needed. To be valid, a construction contract exemption certificate must be signed by the contractee
claiming exemption. Each certificate, or copy of a certificate, submitted to a vendor must be signed by
the contractor or subcontractor making the purchase. A certificate covers all sales of materials made
by the vendor to a contractor or subcontractor for incorporation into real property under that construc-
tion contract. The vendor must maintain the certificate to document the reason tax was not charged.

To be valid, all necessary signatures must be dated and all certificates must specify the reason for
exemption and must clearly identify the contract and specify the job site.

The forms “STEC CC, Construction Contract Exemption Certificate”, revised November 2014, and
“STEC CO, Contractor’'s Exemption Certificate”, revised November 2014, located on the depart-
ment’s website, are incorporated in this rule by reference.

Effective: 12/19/2016

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 09/29/2016 and 12/19/2021
Promulgated Under: 119.03

Statutory Authority: 5703.05

Rule Amplifies: 5701.02, 5739.01, 5739.02, 5739.03, 5741.01, 5741.02
Prior Effective Dates: 5/31/68, 7/2/81, 10/18/82, 7/20/92, 12/16/04
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Links to Exemption Certificates

STEC B - Sales and Use Tax Blanket Exemption Certificate can be found here.
STEC U - Sales and Use Tax Unit Exemption Certificate can be found here.
STEC CC - Construction Contract Exemption Certificate can be found here.

STEC CO - Contractor’s Exemption Certificate can be found on here.
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Vendors’ Licenses and Registrations for the State of Ohio

Every Ohio retailer (vendor) and certain service providers making taxable retail sales must obtain a ven-
dor’s license, collect the proper amount of sales tax, file tax returns with payment of tax collected and main-
tain complete records of transactions.

A new regular vendor’s license is required if a business moves out of the county in which it is located, how-
ever, if a business relocates within the same county where the regular vendor license is issued, the license
is transferable. An update request (Ohio form BAUF) must be submitted to the Ohio Department of Taxa-
tion. There is no fee for transferring a regular vendor’s license.

Any change in ownership (sole proprietor, change of partners in a partnership, partnership to corporation,
corporation to sole proprietor, partnership to sole proprietor, etc.) requires a new license. Vendors holding
an active class C or D liquor permit must continue to operate under the permit holder’s vendor’s license until
the permit transfers to the new owner.

Regular Vendor’s License

This type of license is required by vendors making sales from a fixed place of business and vendors that
make sales online or by catalog. Vendors of tangible personal property and certain services must have
one regular vendor’s license for each sales location. Services requiring a regular vendor’s license are as
follows:

* Fabrication, installation, repair and/or storage of tangible personal property.

* Hotel or similar room rentals.

 Laundry and dry cleaning (excludes coin-operated machine sales).

* Personal care services, including skin care, application of cosmetics, manicures, pedicures, hair
removal, tattoos, body piercing, tanning, massage and other similar services. It does not include
hair care, cutting, coloring or style. Note: If no fixed place of business, these services require a
transient vendor’s license.

* Physical fitness facility service (membership fees and sales of tangible personal property).

» Recreation and sports club service (membership fees and sales of tangible personal property).

* Towing of motor vehicles, including those wrecked, disabled, or illegally parked.

» Washing (except coin-operated), cleaning, waxing, polishing or painting of motor vehicles.

* Transportation of persons within Ohio (except by public transit systems or commercial airlines).

 Landscaping, lawn care and snow removal services

* Building maintenance and janitorial services

NOTE: Services are taxed at the location where the customer receives the benefit or makes first use of
the service.

Where: County auditor’s office or electronically via Ohio Business Gateway
Cost: $25

Form ST 1

Filing: Monthly/Semiannually

Due: 23rd of the following month

Discount: .75% (.0075) — when return is timely filed and tax paid

Additional Charges: $10

Assessment Penalty: May be 50% of tax collected

Transient Vendor’s License

This type of license is required when making sales from a non-fixed location such as a fair, an exhibition
or a trade show, when the vendor travels to the customer’s location to sell taxable items. These licenses
are valid throughout Ohio and allow a vendor to make sales in all 88 counties in Ohio.
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Where: Ohio Department of Taxation or electronically via Ohio Business Gateway
Cost: $25

Form ST 1T

Filing: Monthly/Semiannually

Due: 23rd of the following month

Discount: .75% (.0075) — when return is timely filed and tax paid

Additional Charges: $10

Assessment Penalty: May be 50% of tax collected

Service and Delivery Vendor’s Licenses

As of September 2012, these two types of vendor’s licenses are no longer being issued. However, if you
already have one or both of these license types, please continue to file your sales tax using them.

Direct Pay

When a consumer purchases tangible personal property or services under circumstances that normally
make it impossible at the time of purchase to determine the manner in which the property or services will be
used, the tax commissioner may authorize the consumer to purchase from his suppliers tax exempt and,
when the use is unknown, directly remit the taxes to the Ohio Treasurer of State.

Where: Ohio Department of Taxation, Audit Division — (614) 466-8099
Cost: -0-

Filing: Monthly/Quarterly

Due: 23rd of the following month

Discount: -0-

Additional Charges: -0-

Assessment Penalty: May be 15%

Consumer’s Use Tax

For those individuals/businesses that regularly purchase tangible personal property on which the prop-
er amount of tax was not collected by the seller. Mandatory electronic filing for use tax goes into effect
Jan. 1, 2014.

Where: Ohio Department of Taxation or electronically via Ohio Business Gateway
Cost: -0-

Filing: Monthly/Quarterly

Due: 23rd of the following month

Discount: -0-

Additional Charges: -0-

Assessment Penalty: May be 15%

Seller’s Use Tax

Every seller of tangible personal property or services who has nexus with this state shall register with the
tax commissioner and supply any information concerning his contact. This registration is needed by ven-
dors selling into the state of Ohio from an out-of-state location.

Where: Ohio Department of Taxation or electronically via Ohio Business Gateway
Cost: -0-

Filing: Monthly/Semiannually

Due: 23rd of the following month

Discount: .75% (.0075) — when return is timely filed and tax paid

Additional Charges: $10

Assessment Penalty: May be 15%
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Statewide Cumulative Filer

Allows a multi-location filer to consolidate all sales tax returns onto one form upon authorization from the tax commissioner.
Important: A regular vendor’s license must be obtained for each fixed location.

Where: Ohio Department of Taxation or electronically via Ohio Business Gateway
Cost: -0-

Filing: Monthly/Semiannually

Due: 23rd of the following month

Discount: .75% (.0075) — when return is timely filed and tax paid

Additional Charges: $10

Assessment Penalty: May be 50% of tax collected

Prepay and Prearranged Filers

Prepay authority is granted when the collection of tax presents an unusual burden. Vendors usually authorized for prepay
include vending machine companies, sport stadiums, race tracks, theaters and amusement parks. Vendors authorized and
granted prepay authority will not collect the tax from the consumer but will adequately adjust prices to cover the tax they are
required to absorb. The amount of tax due and payable will be determined by test checks.

Where: Ohio Department of Taxation, Audit Division — (614) 466-8099
Cost: -0- (vendor’s license, $25)

Filing: Monthly/Semiannually

Due: 23rd of the following month

Discount: .75% (.0075) — when return is timely filed and tax paid
Additional Charges: $10

Assessment Penalty: May be 50% of tax collected

Suggested Retail Authority

Suggested retail authority is an administrative policy granted by the tax commissioner to qualified vendors and sellers to
alleviate them having to have their distributors and sales staff acquire licenses.

Companies that make sales in Ohio through independent contractors, agents and distributors, and are the sole supplier of a
line of goods within Ohio or within a certain geographical area within Ohio, may apply to the tax commissioner to be granted
suggested retail authority.

The company is required to apply for a transient vendor’s license that authorizes their representatives to collect the Ohio
sales tax as agents for their company. For further information, contact the department at 1-888-405-4039.
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Sales and Use Tax Division Information Releases

Accelerated and Electronic Sales and Use Tax Payments ...........cccccoeecviereeiiicneeeennee, December 2007
Aircraft Parts and Repair (Updated January 2009) .............ccoociiiiiiiiiieneniieiee e August 2008
0 o (0T =Y Y PR May 1991
Bed and Breakfast..... ... e December 1995
Building Maintenance and Janitorial Services (updated September 2015).................. November 2002
Building Management (updated November 2004) ...............ccccooeeei i October 1995
Bundled TranSaCtioNS. ..........uuuuiiuiciciie e e e e e e e e e e e e e e aaaaes September 2010
Cable TV Companies (updated November 2004) ...............cccceiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieee e November 1995
Carpet and Other Floor/Wall Coverings, Sale and Installation of..............cccccoiiiei s June 1994
Changes to the Definition of Motor Vehicle and Its Implications on the Ohio

Sales and Use Tax STatutes ........eeiiiiiiiiiee et e e e e January 2017
Changes to the Motor Fuel Definition, Tax rates and Refunds— June, 2019................o.oee. June 2019
Computer Cabling, Sales and Installation of (Updated December 2019)........................... March 1999
Core Charges (updated November 2004)...............cooouiiiiiiiiiiee e e seeee e March 1995

Current Value of Tangible Personal Property Purchased for Use Outside This State and
Becomes Permanently Located in This State More Than Six Months After Its Acquisition

BY the CONSUMET ...ttt e sttt e e s et e e e e s anbe e e e e e abeeeeeeaanes April 1995
Definition of Tangible Personal Property Including Prewritten Software ................ccccuvee. July 2, 2003
DY 1Y = T IS T T U o1 o SRR August 2013
Direct Payment Authority Program (updated March 2016).............c.coccoiiiiiiiiiieiiineen. January 2003
Documentary Fees (updated November 2004).................ccccevvveeeiiiiiccceeeeee e, January 29, 1992
Drop ShIPMENLES ... e a e e e e e e November 1989
Drugs, Durable Medical Equipment, Mobility Enhancing Equipment and Prosthetic

Devices (Updated May 2019)...........cooo e September 2010
Electricity, Production, Transmission, Distribution and Sales of..............ccccccceveiieeiiiiinns October 1999
Electronic Payment Methods ..o May 2005
Employment Placement Service (Updated November 2012)................cccooiiiiiiininine April 1993
Employment Service (Updated February 2007) ..............ccccoeeveeeiii e September 1993
Employment Service Update Following the Bellemar Parts Decision..............ccccceeeveunneen.. May 15, 2000
Excise Taxes — “Price” for Calculating Sales or Use Tax (Updated February 2007) ........... March 1995
Exemption Certificate FOMMIS........ooo oo e e May 2005
[T gl o T O 4 =T g Vo 1= SRR July 2, 2003
Financial Aid fOor STUAENES ........ooo e March 1992
Food Definition Changed (Updated May 2015).............cccciiiiiiieii e, Issued May 2004
Food Service — Equipment and Supplies Used in the Food Service Industry..................... August 2010
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Fruit Baskets, Holiday Baskets, Decorative Containers (updated November 2004).... December 1994

Funeral Transactions — Final RUle ..o October 2006
Fungible Goods, APPlICAtioN 0 .........eiiiiiiiiie e July 23, 1979
Government Employees, PUrchases By ... January 1999
Hearing Aids and Related Devices (updated November 2004).......................ccoeeees November 1989
Highway Transportation for Hire (updated August 2011) ............cccccooiiiiiiieiiiiiiee e, August 2011
Human Organs and Tissues (updated November 2004)...............ccccooiiiiiiiiiiieenennns February 1, 1989
Information Retention and Sharing Practices Related to Sales and Use Tax..........cccccvvveeeee.. May 2005
Internet Service Provider's EQUIPMENt..........oooiiiiiiiiiiii e, December 2004
Inventory Items, Temporary Taxable Use Of ... April 1995

Landscaping, Lawn Care Services and Snow Removal (Updated November 2012)...December 2010

Laundry and Dry ClEaNING .......ccceiiuuiiieeiiiieee et e e ssiee e e s ssnteeaessnteeeaessstaeeeseannseeeeeennneeas July 31, 2003
Leases and RENTAIS ........coeeveei ettt e e e e e e e as July 2, 2003
Manufactured Homes, Mobile Homes and Industrialized Units .............cccoovvvieieiins January 2001
MODIlE CONCIEIE IMIXETS .cooiiieiieee ittt e et e e e e e e e e et e e e e ennteeaeeenneeas May 21, 1979
Motor Vehicles — Dealer Transfers for No Consideration, and Sales or Gifts to

NONProfit OrganiZations ...........oooi i e abre e e March 2008
Motor Vehicles — Sales of Motor Vehicles to Nonresidents of Ohio (Updated October 2018)August 2007
Natural Gas (updated January 2016).............cccceeeiiiiiiieeiiiiiie e November 1998
Nexus Standards/Use Tax (updated November 2019)..............oooi e September 2001
Nonprofit Charitable Organizations...............ueiiiiiei oo July 1994
Nonresident Temporary BUSINESS USE ........uuuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieiieee e April 1995
Online Services and Internet Access (updated September 2016) ................ccccceeeeeinnees January 1999
Personal Car€ SEIVICES .......uuiiiiiiieei ittt e et e e e e e e e e e s st aeeeeaaaeeeeeeannnnnes July 11, 2003
Portable Grain Bins, Field Tile, Livestock Structures and Horticultural Structures................... May 2007
Price, Changes to the Definition Of.........c...oeiii e July 2, 2003
Recreation and Sports CIUD SEIVICES ........uuuiiiiiiiii i a e July 2002
Restaurants and Other Food Vendors (Updated August 2014) ...................ccoceeeenneee. December 2005
Rounding — Sales and Use Tax Calculation and Rounding Change, Effective

L O 0 T PRPP December 2005
Schools — Sales by School Support Groups and Other Charitable Organizations ............ August 2007
SCraAP TIrE FBE. ..ttt e e e e e e e December 1993
Service Station CanOPIES. ... e e e e e e e e e e aan June 1999
7o 18] o1 o PSSP December 2009
(o] =T 1= PP OTPRRR July 31, 2003



> Telecommunication Changes.........cooiiiiiiiiiiiii e July 10, 2003
» Telephone Charges by Hotel and Motels ... January 1989
» Towing Service (updated February 2004) ..............ccoooiiiiiiiiiiiiee e August 2003
D=1 o (o]l @70 Ty g o T=T 4 1-3= 1 1] o 1RO PRP July 2009
» Water-Conditioning Equipment and Water-Treatment Chemicals.............c.ccccceeiviieniennnnen. March 1995
P Watercraft SAlES........ooo i September 1998

The current list can be found by clicking here or by going to the Info Releases page at tax.ohio.gov.
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Vendor’s license number TIN Semi-Annual UST 1 TeleFile Worksheet
Enter tax return data for each line for each period.

Name
Tax returns are due the 23rd day of the month following the period end.

Period End Date

Line 1 — Gross sales

Line 2 — Exempt sales

*Line 3 — Net taxable sales

Line 4 — Clerks of courts

*Line 5 — Reportable taxable sales

Line 6 — Tax liability

*Line 7 — Discount

*Line 8a — Additional charge

*Line 8b — Interest owed

*Line 9 — Net tax due

Amount paid

TeleFile return 12-digit confirmation no.

ACH or credit card confirmation no.

*Calculated fields Retain for your records.

TeleFile will ask you to sign your return. TeleFile will then assign you a 12-digit confirmation number. Do not hang up until you have signed your return and
received this number. If you hang up before signing your return, your return will not be processed. You will receive a 15-digit confirmation number
for an ACH payment or a six-character confirmation number for a credit card payment. Enter the confirmation numbers in the spaces provided. It is your
proof of filing.

DO NOT MAIL in this WORKSHEET.
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Vendor’s license number

TIN

Name

Monthly UST 1 TeleFile Worksheet
Enter tax return data for each line for each month.
Tax returns are due the 23rd day of the month following the period end.

Period End Date

Line 1 — Gross sales

Line 2 — Exempt sales

*Line 3 — Net taxable sales

Line 4 — Clerks of courts

*Line 5 — Reportable taxable sales

Line 6 — Tax liability

*Line 7 — Discount

*Line 8a — Additional charge

*Line 8b — Interest owed

*Line 9 — Net tax due

TeleFile return 12-digit confirmation no.

ACH or credit card confirmation no.

eeledatedtelts DO NOT MAIL in this WORKSHEET.

Retain for your records.

TeleFile will ask you to sign your return. TeleFile will then assign you a 12-digit confirmation number. Do not hang up until you have signed your return and
received this number. If you hang up before signing your return, your return will not be processed. You will receive a 15-digit confirmation number
for an ACH payment or a six-character confirmation number for a credit card payment. Enter the confirmation numbers in the spaces provided. It is your

proof of filing.

Vendor’s license number

TIN

Name

Monthly UST 1 TeleFile Worksheet

Enter tax return data for each line for each month.
Tax returns are due the 23rd day of the month following the period end.

Period End Date

Line 1 — Gross sales

Line 2 — Exempt sales

*Line 3 — Net taxable sales

Line 4 — Clerks of courts

*Line 5 — Reportable taxable sales

Line 6 — Tax liability

*Line 7 — Discount

*Line 8a — Additional charge

*Line 8b — Interest owed

*Line 9 — Net tax due

TeleFile return 12-digit confirmation no.

ACH or credit card confirmation no.

eeledatea el DO NOT MAIL in this WORKSHEET.

Retain for your records.

TeleFile will ask you to sign your return. TeleFile will then assign you a 12-digit confirmation number. Do not hang up until you have signed your return and
received this number. If you hang up before signing your return, your return will not be processed. You will receive a 15-digit confirmation number
for an ACH payment or a six-character confirmation number for a credit card payment. Enter the confirmation numbers in the spaces provided. It is your

proof of filing.
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TeleFile Instructions

TeleFile Requirements
You can file your sales tax return using TeleFile if:

1. You are a registered Ohio vendor.

2. You have a touch-tone telephone.

3. Your vendor’s license number begins with 01 through 88.

4. You are reporting sales for only the county of your vendor’s license.
5. You did not make accelerated payments for the reporting period.

Taxpayer Information
The toll-free number to call for TeleFile is (800) 697-0440.

When you call to TeleFile, please be prepared to:
1. Enter eight-digit vendor’s license number.
2. Enter two-digit Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN).

Return Information

When prompted, please enter all of the following. Examples are on the Telefile worksheet.
Reporting Period — Enter eight-digit month, day and year of the filing period end date (e.g., January
31,2014 as 01312014).
1. Gross Sales — From line 1 of the TeleFile worksheet enter gross sales in dollars and cents, fol-
lowed by the pound (#) sign. If zero, enter -0-.
2. Exempt Sales — From line 2 of the TeleFile worksheet enter amount of exempt sales in dollars and
cents followed by the # sign. If zero, enter -0-.
3. Net Taxable Sales — This will be automatically calculated.
4. Motor Vehicles — From line 4 of the Telefile worksheet enter amount of sales upon which tax is
paid to clerk of courts in dollars and cents followed by the # sign. If zero, enter -0-.
5. Reportable Taxable Sales — This will be automatically calculated.
6. Tax Liability — From line 6 of the TeleFile worksheet enter amount of tax you owe in dollars and
cents followed by # sign.
7. Discount — If the return is filed on time, the system will calculate the discount. Enter the discount
on line 7 of the TeleFile worksheet.
8. Additional Charge — If the return is filed late, the system will calculate the additional charge and
interest. Enter the additional charge and interest on lines 8a and 8b of the TeleFile worksheet.
9. Net Tax Due — This will be automatically calculated.

Payment Information
Payment can be made by electronic check or credit card. Please follow the steps below.

Electronic Check
1. Enter nine-digit bank routing number.
2. Enter bank account number.
3. Enter eight-digit month, day and year for the withdrawal (e.g., Jan. 23, 2014 as 01232014). You
will receive a 15 digit confirmation number when completed. Please write this confirmation number
down for your proof of payment on the line that is provided on the Telefile worksheet.

Credit Card

If you choose to pay by credit card you may do so by calling (800) 272-9829 or by visiting
www.officialpayments.com on the Web. Enter Ohio’s Business Tax Jurisdiction 6447 when prompted
and follow the recorded instructions. You will receive a confirmation number that has a combination of
six (6) numbers and/or letters. Please write this confirmation number down for your proof of payment on
the line that is provided on the Telefile worksheet. Note: If you pay your taxes by credit card, you must
still file the tax return by the due date.

Signature and Confirmation
Please complete the following to be sure your return is accepted:

1. To sign your return, enter two-digit TIN following the declaration statement.
2. After signing your return the system will assign a 10-digit confirmation number. Enter the confirmation
number on the last line of the TeleFile worksheet.
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9-1-1 Charge
Section



What Is 9-1-1 Charge?

The 9-1-1 charge is imposed on the consumer of wireless calling service. The 9-1-1 charge applies to pur-
chases of postpaid and prepaid wireless calling service. Funds received from the 9-1-1 charge are used by
countywide 9-1-1 systems to provide and maintain countywide wireless enhanced 9-1-1 service.

Who Must Register and Collect?

The fee is imposed on the consumer of the wireless calling service. Retailers must collect and remit the
9-1-1 charge on sales of prepaid wireless calling service at the point of sale. Wireless service providers and
resellers add the 9-1-1 charge to the bills for postpaid wireless calling service with an Ohio billing address
and remit the 9-1-1 charge to the department. Electronic registration is available online through the Ohio
Business Gateway at gateway.ohio.gov. Paper registration forms can be requested by calling 1-888-405-
4039.

What Are the Filing Requirements?

You are required to file the 9-1-1 return electronically on the Ohio Business Gateway at www.business.
ohio.gov. Payments may be made electronically through the Ohio Business Gateway or Official Payments
at www.officialpayments.com. The return and payment are due by the 23rd of each month, following the
reporting period. For example, 9-1-1 charges collected during January must be reported and remitted by
Feb. 23.

What Is the Rate for 9-1-1 Charge?

For prepaid wireless calling service the 9-1-1 charge is five tenths of one percent (0.005) of the sale price.
For post-paid wireless calling service the fee is $0.25 for each wireless phone number with an Ohio billing
address.

When are These Collection and Remittance Requirements Effective?
Jan. 1, 2014. Prior to that date, the 9-1-1 charge was remitted to and distributed by the Public Utilities Com-
mission of Ohio.

Are Retailers, Wireless Service Providers or Resellers Compensated for Collecting
the 9-1-1 Charge?

Yes, retailers, wireless service providers and resellers may retain a 3% collection fee if the return and full
payment are received by the Ohio Department of Taxation on or before the due date.

Ohio Department of Taxation Contact Information for Assistance

» Internet Address
tax.ohio.gov

» Phone Numbers
Forms Request Line — 1-800-282-1782
Phone (registration) — 1-888-405-4089
Phone (general business) — 1-888-405-4039
Fax — 1-614-387-1851

» Written Registration Correspondence
Ohio Department of Taxation
Taxpayer Services Division
P.O. Box 182215
Columbus, OH 43218-2215
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Ohio Employer
Withholding Tax Section




What Is Ohio Withholding Tax?

The Ohio withholding tax is an amount that must be deducted or withheld from each employee’s paycheck
in payment of the employee’s Ohio income tax (if you have a business or office in Ohio and hire people to
work for you, you are an employer).

Who Must Register and Withhold?

All employers maintaining an office or transacting business in Ohio, hiring people to work and required
to withhold federal income tax must register by completing and filing form IT 1, Combined Application for
Registration as an Ohio Withholding Tax/School District Withholding Tax Agent, with the Ohio Department
of Taxation.

An Ohio withholding account number will be assigned to new withholding agents after registration. All sub-
sequently filed tax returns, forms and correspondence submitted to the Ohio Department of Taxation must
reflect this account number.

The information required for registration includes:

Business legal name

Trade name, if any

Address and/or business address and county

Ohio liquor permit number (if applicable)

Federal employer identification number

Type of business and business code

Date payroll anticipated

Name(s) and title(s) of the individual(s) responsible for filing returns and payment of Ohio withholding tax
Social Security number

©COoNOOrWON =

All employers who become liable for withholding Ohio income tax must file Ohio form IT 1 within 15 days of
the date that such liability begins.

Withholding is not required if the compensation is paid for or to:

Agricultural labor (i.e., farmers)

Domestic service in a private home, local college club or local chapter of a college fraternity or sorority.
An employee earning less than $300 in a calendar quarter

Services performed for a foreign government or international organization

When the employee is under age 18 and sells and delivers newspapers

Services not in the course of the employer’s trade or business to the extent paid in any medium other
than cash (i.e., hiring someone to occasionally clean your office)

Employees you hire who live in Michigan, Indiana, Kentucky, Pennsylvania or West Virginia (based on
written agreements with the state of Ohio, these employees have to pay income tax to the state in which
they live). However, employees must fill out Ohio form IT 4NR, Employee’s Statement of Residency in
a Reciprocity State.

AWM=

N

How Do | Get Forms and Applications? Where Do | Get Assistance if | Need Help?
You may get applications, forms and help by contacting the Department of Taxation via:

> Internet/E-mail

tax.ohio.gov

» Forms Request Line 1-800-282-1782
Phone 1-888-405-4039
Fax 1-614-387-1851
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» Walk-in Help
Ohio Department of Taxation
Taxpayer Service Center
4485 Northland Ridge Blvd.
Columbus, Ohio 43229-6596

> Written Correspondence
Ohio Department of Taxation
Taxpayer Services Division
P.O. Box 182215
Columbus, OH 43218-2215

After Applying as an Ohio Employer Withholding Agent, What Forms Must Be
Completed?

A. Ohio Withholding Exemption Certificate: Each employee must complete Ohio form IT 4, Employee’s
Withholding Exemption Certificate, or the employer shall withhold tax from the employee’s compensation
without exemption.

B. Ohio Withholding Tax Returns: Effective Jan. 1, 2015, in accordance with Ohio Administrative Code
rule 5703-7-19, employers are required to file state and school district income tax withholding returns
and make payment of the withheld taxes through the Ohio Business Gateway.

Employers subject to withholding must make payments in the amounts required to be withheld. The
withholding tax forms that you file are based on your filing frequency. Monthly and quarterly filers remit
state income tax withholding payments on Ohio Business Gateway using Ohio IT 501. Employers who
have been approved under the opt out provision to file paper state income tax withholding returns, remit
withholding tax payments using Ohio IT 501, mailed to the Ohio Department of Taxation with remittance
made payable to the Ohio Treasurer of State. Partial-weekly filers are required to pay withheld taxes by
EFT and do not file or send in the Ohio IT 501.

C. Annual Reports

1. To Employees (W-2 or 1099-R). On or before Jan. 31 of the succeeding calendar year, an employer
required to withhold shall furnish to all employees on whom tax was or should have been withheld, two
copies of the report of compensation paid during the calendar year and of the amount deducted and
withheld as tax. Employers may use federal W-2 or 1099-R.

2. To the Ohio Department of Taxation (Ohio IT 941). An employer who is required to remit quarterly or
monthly shall file the Ohio IT 941, Ohio Employer’s Annual Reconciliation of Income Tax With—held, no
later than the last day of the month following the end of the calendar year.

3. To the Ohio Department of Taxation (Ohio IT 942). An employer who is required to remit partial-weekly
shall file the Ohio IT 942, Ohio Employer’s EFT 4th Quarter/Annual Reconciliation of Income Tax With-
held, no later than the last day of the month following the end of the calendar year. The Ohio IT 942 is
filed on OBG. EFT filers do not file the Ohio IT 941.

4. To the Ohio Department of Taxation (Ohio IT 3). An employer required to withhold shall file on or before
the last day of January of the succeeding calendar year the Ohio IT 3, Transmittal of Wage and Tax
Statements. Employers are no longer required to send us paper copies of the federal W-2. If the infor-
mation is not submitted electronically, the Ohio Department of Taxation may re~quest W-2s periodically
when conducting compliance programs. If you elect to send your state W-2 information to us on mag-
netic media, you must comply using an approved format. Employers with 250 or more W-2 Copy A forms
must file them electronically using the EFW2 format. Electronic format information is also available on
the department’'s Web site at tax.ohio.gov.
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How Do You Make Corrections if an Error Is Made?
A. W-2or 1099R

An employer must furnish a corrected W-2 or 1099R if, after the original form has been given to an
employee, an error is discovered. Corrected statements should be clearly marked “CORRECTED BY
EMPLOYER” and one copy should be submitted to the Department of Taxation and two copies to the
employee. If the W-2 or 1099R is lost or destroyed, one must be submitted to the Ohio Department of
Taxation marked “REISSUED BY EMPLOYER” and two copies to the employee.

B. Overwithholding or Underwithholding — Quarterly, Monthly or Partial Weekly Payments
(Ohio form IT 501) and EFT Payments (Ohio form IT 942)

1. If the error is discovered in a subsequent period of the same calendar year, make the adjustment by
reducing or increasing the tax due on your next Ohio IT 501 or EFT payment.

2. If an error is discovered after the annual reconciliation Ohio IT 941 has been filed, complete an
amended reconciliation, Ohio IT 941X for that year. For EFT filers, file an amended Ohio IT 942, Ohio
Employer’s EFT 4th Quarter/Annual Reconciliation of Income Tax Withheld, through OBG.

How Do | Know How Much Ohio Income Tax To Withhold from Wages?

Withholding tables that show the amount of tax to be withheld based on the employee’s salary, number of
exemptions and how often you pay are available on pages 40-51 (refer to our Web site at tax.ohio.gov for
the most current tables).

What Are My Responsibilities as an Ohio Employer Withholding Agent?

Each withholding agent is liable for the tax required to be withheld. For purposes of assessment and col-
lection, amounts required to be withheld and paid to the Ohio Department of Taxation are considered to
be a tax on the employer. The officer or the employee having control or supervision of or charged with the
responsibility of filing the report and making payment shall be held personally liable for any failure to file the
report and/or pay the tax as required by law.

What About Penalties for Failure To Comply with Employer Withholding
Responsibilities?

If an employer fails to pay the tax deducted and withheld from employees by the due date, interest shall ac-
crue on the unpaid tax at the rate provided for under Ohio Revised Code section 5703.47. Interest on the tax
due is charged in addition to any penalty that may be incurred for late filing and/or late payment of a tax due.

If an employer fails to pay the tax deducted and withheld from employees’ compensation by the due date,
a penalty of 50% may be assessed on the tax due, unless it is shown the failure was for reasonable cause
and not willful neglect.

If a return, or the Ohio IT 501, IT 941, IT 942 or IT 3 is not filed, or is filed after the due date, the penalty is

the greater of: $50 per month up to a maximum of $500 or 5% per month up to a maximum of 50% of the
tax due.
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What Records Must | Keep and How Long Must | Keep Them?

Every employer required to withhold tax must maintain accurate records of all persons from whom tax is
collected for a period of four years from the due date.

Records must include:
1. Amounts and dates of all compensation paid subject to withholding.

2. Names, addresses, school district of residence, principal county of employment (nonresidents) and
SSNs of all employees receiving compensation.

3. Periods of employment, including periods during which compensation was paid while absent due to
sickness or injury.

4. Copies of the Ohio IT 501, IT 941, IT 942 and IT 3 filed with the Ohio Department of Taxation.
5. W-2s and 1099-Rs.

Electronic Filing

Electronic filing is available for all Ohio employers through the Ohio Business Gateway. The Ohio Business
Gateway is a Web site that enables employers to electronically file returns with several Ohio agencies. You
must register at gateway.ohio.gov to use the online system.

Employers who are required to file Ohio withholding reports with the Ohio Department of Taxation may use
the Ohio Business Gateway to file and pay their returns. Payments may be made by ACH debit or by credit
card.

Withholding Tax Links
All forms are available on the Forms page at_tax.ohio.gov or by clicking the links below.

Ohio Form IT 1, Combined Application for Registration as an Ohio Withholding Tax/School District With-
holding Tax Agent Click here

Ohio Form IT 4, Employee’s Withholding Exemption Certificate Click here

Ohio Form IT 4NR, Employee’s Statement of Residency in a Reciprocity State Click here
Ohio Form IT 3, Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements Click here

Employer’s Ohio Income Tax Withholding Tables Click here

Employer Withholding Tax Due Dates Click here

IT501, IT942, 1T942, and IT 941X Returns must be filed electronically on the Ohio Business Gateway at
gateway.ohio.gov.
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School District
Withholding Tax Section




What Is School District Income Tax?

School district income tax is an income tax separate from federal, state and city income taxes and is ear-
marked specifically to support school districts. Voters in a school district must approve the income tax. The
school district tax is levied on:

a) Any individual residing in the state of Ohio and living during all or part of a tax year in the school district,
and

b) The income earned or received by an estate of a decedent who, at the time of death, was domiciled in
the school district. Estates are exempt in school districts that levy the “earned income only” version of
the tax.

Employers conducting business in Ohio and whose employees reside in a school district, which has en-
acted the school district tax, must withhold and remit the tax for their employees.

Who Must Register and Withhold?

All employers maintaining an office or transacting business in Ohio and required to withhold federal and
state income tax must register if they employ residents of school districts that have enacted the school
district income tax. To register immediately, employers should apply online through Ohio Business Gate-
way (gateway.ohio.gov). Paper registration is available using Form IT1. Please allow 6-8 weeks to process
paper applications. Employers liable for the school district income tax will use the same account number
they use for Ohio withholding. All subsequently filed tax returns, forms and correspondence submitted to
the Ohio Department of Taxation should reflect this account number.

Withholding is not required if the compensation is paid for or to:

Agricultural labor (i.e., farmers).

Domestic service in a private home, local college club or local chapter of a college fraternity or sorority.
An employee earning less than $300 in a calendar quarter.

Services performed for a foreign government or international organization.

When the employee is under age 18 and sells and delivers newspapers.

Services not in the course of the employer’s trade or business to the extent paid in any medium other
than cash (i.e., hiring someone to occasionally clean your office).

Employees you hire who live in Michigan, Indiana, Kentucky, Pennsylvania or West Virginia (based on
written agreements with the state of Ohio, these employees have to pay income tax to the state in which
they live).

DR LON =

~

How Do | Get Forms and Applications? Where Do | Get Assistance if | Need Help?
You may get applications, forms and help by contacting the Department of Taxation via:

> Internet/E-mail » Self-Service Walk-in Center

tax.chio.gov Ohio Department of Taxation
> Forms request line 1-800-282-1782 Taxpayer Service Center
Phone (general business) 1-888-405-4039 4485 Northland Ridge Blvd.
Phone (registration) 1-888-405-4089 Columbus, Ohio 43229-6596
Fax 1-614-387-1851 » Written Correspondence
> Self-Service Walk-in Center Ohio Departmgnt of Taxation
Ohio Department of Taxation Taxpayer Services Division
Taxpayer Service Center P.O. Box 182215
4485 Northland Ridge Blvd. Columbus, Ohio 43218-2215

Columbus, Ohio 43229-6596
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After Applying as an Ohio School District Employer Withholding Agent, What Forms Must
Be Completed?

A. Ohio Form IT 4, Employee’s Withholding Exemption Certificate

Each employee must complete Ohio form IT 4, Withholding Exemption Certificate, or the employer shall
withhold tax from the employee’s compensation without exemption.

B. Ohio Form SD 101, Ohio Quarterly or Monthly Withholding Tax Payment

Effective Jan. 1, 2015, in accordance with Ohio Administrative Code rule 5703-7-19, employers are re-
quired to file state and school district income tax withholding returns and make payment of the withheld
taxes through the Ohio Business Gateway. Employers should use the same wage base for withholding
school district income tax as they use for withholding Ohio income tax and should use the same number
of exemptions.

Quarterly payments are due if the combined Ohio and school district liability was not more than $2,000
during the 12-month period ending on the 30th day of June of the preceding calendar year.

Monthly payments are due if the combined Ohio and School District liability was more than $2,000 dur-
ing the 12-month period ending on the 30th day of June of the preceding calendar year.

Employers discovering a withholding error from a previous period should adjust their next SD 101(s)
by showing the net withholding tax due within that same school district only. Employers may not adjust
between school districts on the SD 101.

C. Annual Reports

Ohio Form SD 141, School District Employer’s Annual Reconciliation of Tax Withheld
All employers required to withhold in the current year must file Ohio form SD 141, Annual Reconcilia-
tion, no later than Jan. 31 of the next calendar year. Employers selling or closing their business during
the year must file an SD 141 within 15 days after the date of selling or closing the business.

Employers should show all withholding amounts on the back of the SD 141 and bring the net overpay-
ment or underpayment to the front of the return.

How Do | Make Corrections if an Error Is Made?
A. Corrected W-2 or 1099-R

An employer must furnish a corrected W-2 or 1099-R if, after the original form has been given to an
employee, an error is discovered. Corrected statements should be clearly marked “CORRECTED BY
EMPLOYER” and one copy should be submitted to the Ohio Department of Taxation and two copies to
the employee. If the W-2 or 1099-R is lost or destroyed, one must be submitted to the Ohio Department
of Taxation marked “REISSUED BY EMPLOYER” and two copies to the employee.

B. Overwithholding or Underwithholding — Quarterly or Monthly

1. If the error is discovered in a subsequent period of the same calendar year, indicate the adjustment
on the next SD 101 return.

2. If an error is discovered after the annual reconciliation (SD 141) has been filed, complete an amended
reconciliation (SD 141X) for that year.

Are Employers Responsible for Withholding the School District Income Tax from
Employees’ Compensation?

Yes. Employers liable for Ohio withholding income tax (having an Ohio location or conducting business in
Ohio) must withhold the school district income tax from an employee’s compensation once the tax becomes
effective for that employee. Withholding of the school district income tax is based solely upon the residence
of the employee, not the place of employment.
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Example #1: Janet Jones resides within the Rochelle School District; the Rochelle School District has a 2%
school district tax. Her employer’s office (where Ms. Jones works) is located within the Campton School
District; the Campton School District does not have a school district tax. Because Ms. Jones resides within
a school district with a school district tax, her employer must withhold school district income tax from her
compensation (her federal wage base minus her state exemptions times 2%), even though Ms. Jones
works within a school district without a school district tax.

Example #2: John Smith resides within the Stoddard School District; the Stoddard School District does
not have the school district income tax. His employer’s office (where Mr. Smith works) is located within
the Browner School District; the Browner School District has a 1% school district income tax. Because Mr.
Smith resides in a school district without a school district income tax, his employer should not withhold any
school district income tax, even though Mr. Smith works within a school district with a school district income
tax.

As an Employer, How Do | Know What District an Employee Lives In?

Each year after the general election you may ask employees to update their Ohio form IT 4, Ohio Employee
Withholding Exemption Certificate, which you are required to keep on file. The IT 4 has an area for employ-
ees to indicate the name and number of their public school district residence.

All public school districts are listed in the back of the most current IT 1040 booklet. If your employees are
not sure about the school district they live in, they should contact their local board of elections or county
auditor. They may also log onto our Web site and use “The Finder” feature to look up their school district of
residence.

As an Employer, Am | Automatically a School District Withholding Agent?

When an Ohio Withholding account is created, a School District Withholding account is automatically cre-
ated as well. Both accounts will use the same number. All affected employers should begin filing SD101 and
SD141 returns as soon as the employer determines that it has one or more employees subject to the tax.

How Do Employers Know How Much Tax to Withhold?

Employers should use the same wage base and number of exemptions they use for withholding Ohio in-
come tax and use the school district withholding tables, unless the school district income tax is based on
earned income. Several school districts have enacted an alternative, earned income-only, tax base. For
those school districts with an income tax based on earned income, the employer should withhold at a flat
rate equal to the tax rate for the district with no reduction or adjustment for personal exemptions.

These earned income-only tax base school districts are included in the listings when you Click Here

How Do Employers Remit Their School District Withholding Tax?

Effective Jan. 1, 2015, in accordance with Ohio Administrative Code rule 5703-7-19, employers are re-
quired to file school district income tax withholding returns and make payment of the withheld taxes through
the Ohio Business Gateway at gateway.ohio.gov.

School district withholding status is the same as the employer’s withholding status and cannot be changed.
If Ohio withholding filing status is quarterly, the school district withholding is to be remitted quarterly regard-
less of the amount.

Do Employers File Separate SD 101s for Each School District for Which School
District Income Tax Was Withheld?

No. Employers will file one SD 101 for each remittance period and will show on the return the tax withheld
for each affected school district.
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Must Employers File an Annual Reconciliation of Withholding?

Yes. Employers must file an annual report, Ohio form SD 141, School District Employers Annual Reconcili-
ation of Tax Withheld. The reconciliation is due by Jan. 31 of the following year or 15 days after selling or
closing business. The employer reports and reconciles annual withholding and identifies any out-of-balance
school district payments. Employers should not remit W-2s or IT 4s with the annual reconciliation. They
should remit W-2s with the IT 3 and keep IT 4s on file.

What Are My Responsibilities as an Ohio School District Employer Withholding
Agent?

Each withholding agent is liable for the school district income tax to be withheld. For purposes of assess-
ment and collection, amounts required to be withheld and paid to the Ohio Department of Taxation are con-
sidered to be a tax on the employer. The officer or the employee having control or supervision of or charged
with the responsibility of filing the report and making payment shall be held personally liable for any failure
to file the report or pay the tax as required by law.

What About Penalties for Failure to Comply With School District Income Tax
Withholding Responsibilities?

If an employer fails to pay the school district tax deducted and withheld from employees by the due date,
interest shall accrue on the unpaid tax at the rate provided for under Ohio Revised Code section 5703.47.
Interest (5% for 2020) on the unpaid tax is due in addition to any penalty for late filing or late payment of
the tax due. If an employer fails to pay the school district tax deducted and withheld from employees by the
due date, the employer may incur a penalty of up to 50% of the tax due, unless failure was for reasonable
cause and not willful neglect. If an employer does not file the SD 101 or SD 141 or files after the due date,
a late fi ling penalty may be assessed, which is the greater of $50 per month or fraction of a month (up to a
maximum of $500) or 5% per month or fraction of a month (up to a maximum of 50% of the tax due).

If an employer requests that each employee date and sign a revised IT 4 or a document indicating the em-
ployee’s school district, but the employee either fails to provide the information or the employee provides
incorrect information, and as a result, the tax is not withheld properly, the employer is not liable for the
penalties and interest. However, if the employer knows or should have known that the employee-provided
information is incorrect, the employer would be liable for penalties and interest for failure to properly with-
hold. The employer’s failure to withhold does not relieve the employee from liability for the tax.

What Records Must | Keep and How Long Must These Records Be Kept?

Every employer required to withhold school district income tax must maintain a current, accurate record of
all persons subject to the tax.

Records must include:
1. Amounts and dates of all compensation paid subject to withholding.
2. Properly completed Ohio form IT 4.

3. Periods of employment, including periods during which compensation is paid while absent due to sick-
ness or injury.

4. Amount of compensation paid by pay period.
5. Copies of annual returns filed with the Ohio Department of Taxation.

You must maintain these records for at least four years.
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Which Taxpayers Are Legally Not Obligated to Pay the School District Tax?

Businesses are exempt from the school district income tax. Also, individuals not domiciled or residing in the
affected school district are not obligated to pay the tax, even if they work in the district.

Can Voters Repeal The School District Income Tax?

Yes. Voters may repeal a school district income tax enacted for more than a five-year period. The repeal
vote may take place no earlier than the year following the initial approval of the tax. At least 75 days before
the general election in any year voters may file with their county board of elections a petition asking for a
ballot issue to repeal the school district income tax. The petition must be signed by qualified electors resid-
ing in the school district levying the school district income tax equal in number to 10% of those voting for
governor in the most recent gubernatorial election. If a majority of the voters vote to repeal the school dis-
trict income tax, the repeal becomes effective on Jan. 1 of the following year. The repeal issue may appear
on the ballot only once in any five-year period. If the repealed tax was originally enacted with a concurrent
reduction in property tax millage, the property tax millage reverts to the original rate(s) that same Jan. 1.

What Limits Can Voters of a School District Impose on the Income Tax Rate That
Can Be Levied?

There is no rate limit. The only stipulation by law is that the rate must be in increments of .25%.

When Will the School District Receive the Revenue from the Income Tax?

The tax becomes effective Jan. 1 of the year designated in the election. School districts will receive the
first payment in April of that year (less $1,000 held back for refunds). Districts will receive the full amount
of taxes collected each quarter. They will receive four payments per calendar year: one each at the end of
January, April, July and October. Except for an administrative fee of 1.5%, the state collects and returns to
the school districts all school district tax revenue collected.

School District Income Tax Employer Withholding Links

School Districts with an Income Tax Click Here
All forms can be found on the Forms page at tax.ohio.gov or by clicking the links below.

Ohio Form IT 1, Combined Application for Registration as an Ohio Withholding Tax/School
District Withholding Tax Agent Click Here

Ohio Form IT 4, Employee’s Withholding Exemption Certificate Click Here
Ohio Form IT 3, Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements Click Here

SD101, SD141, and SD141X returns must be filed electronically on the Ohio Business Gateway Website
at gateway.ohio.gov.

-36 -



Commercial Activity Tax
Section




What Is the Commercial Activity Tax (CAT)?

The CAT is a tax on the privilege of doing business in Ohio that is measured by gross receipts. This tax ap-
plies to all types of businesses: e.g. retailers, service providers (such as lawyers, accountants and doctors),
manufacturers and other types of businesses.

Who Is Subject to the CAT?

In general, the CAT is paid by businesses with taxable gross receipts of more than $150,000 in a calendar
year. The CAT applies to all entity types regardless of form, e.g., sole proprietorships, partnerships, LLCs
and all types of corporations.

The tax applies to businesses that meet any of the following criteria at any point throughout the calendar
year:

Have at least $500,000 in taxable gross receipts in Ohio,

Have at least $50,000 in property in Ohio,

Expend at least $50,000 in payroll for work in Ohio,

Have at least 25% of their total property, payroll or gross receipts in Ohio, or
Are domiciled in Ohio.

VVVVY

Who Is Not Subject to the CAT?
Excluded from the CAT are:

» Nonprofit organizations,

» Some public utilities (telegraph company, natural gas company, pipeline company, water works com-
pany, heating company, combined company [excludes electric]) that pay the public utility excise tax,
Financial institutions that pay the financial institutions tax,

Insurance companies that pay the Ohio insurance premiums tax,

Certain affiliates of financial institutions, and

Businesses with $150,000 or less of taxable gross receipts (unless they are part of a “consolidated
elected taxpayer”).

VVYVYYV

What Are Taxable Gross Receipts?

Gross receipts are defined as the total amount realized, without deduction for the cost of goods sold or
other expenses incurred, from activities that contribute to the production of gross income. Examples of
gross receipts include sales, performance of services and rentals or leases. There are some receipts that
are not subject to the CAT. The following are some examples: interest (other than from credit sales), divi-
dends, capital gains, wages, amounts in excess of commissions if there is an agency relationship, and gifts.
In general, for the sale of tangible personal property such receipt is only considered a taxable gross receipt
if the property is delivered to a location in this state. For services, the receipt is sitused to Ohio in the pro-
portion that the purchaser’s benefit in this state bears to the purchaser’s benefit everywhere. The physical
location where the purchaser ultimately uses or receives the benefit of what was purchased is paramount
in making this determination. In other words, receipts from sales to out-of-state purchasers or the propor-
tion of the services where the benefit is primarily received outside of this state are not subject to the CAT.

Is Registration Required?

Taxpayers having more than $150,000 in taxable gross receipts (i.e., those gross receipts sitused to Ohio)
sitused to Ohio for the calendar year are required to register, file returns and remit liability for the CAT. In
order to file returns, a taxpayer must first register for CAT with the Department of Taxation. Taxpayers are
required to register for CAT within 30 days of becoming subject to the tax. Registration is available elec-
tronically through the Ohio Business Gateway at gateway.ohio.gov. Alternatively, taxpayers may register by
submitting the CAT 1 registration form. The CAT 1 registration form is available through the department’s
Web site at tax.ohio.gov or may be requested by calling 1-800-282-1782.
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What Are Consolidated Elected Taxpayers and Combined Taxpayers?

A consolidated elected taxpayer group is a taxpayer that has elected to file as a group including all enti-
ties that have either 50% or more common ownership or 80% or more common ownership. In addition, the
group can elect to include or exclude non-U.S. entities with the same common ownership in the group. A
major benefit of making this election is that receipts received between members of the group may be ex-
cluded from the taxable gross receipts of the group. However, taxpayers making this election must agree
that all commonly owned entities are part of the group even if nexus does not exist. This election is binding
for eight calendar quarters. If such election is not made, any taxpayers with common ownership of more
than 50% must file as a combined taxpayer group. Combined taxpayer groups may not exclude receipts
between members of the group; however, such groups need only include in the group those members that
have nexus with Ohio.

What Is the Tax Rate?

The CAT was phased in over a five-year period as follows:

Start Date End Date Base Rate Reduction Factor Tax Rate
07/01/2005 12/31/2005 0.0006 1.000 0.0006000
01/01/2006 03/31/2006 0.0026 0.230 0.0005980
04/01/2006 03/31/2007 0.0026 0.400 0.0010400
04/01/2007 03/31/2008 0.0026 0.600 0.0015600
04/01/2008 03/31/2009 0.0026 0.800 0.0020800
04/01/2009 12/31/9999 0.0026 1.000 0.0026000

How Often Am | Required to File?

Taxpayers with taxable gross receipts between $150,000 and $1 million in a calendar year file as annual
taxpayers for the CAT. Taxpayers with taxable gross receipts in excess of $1 million in a calendar year must
file quarterly. Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, annual and quarterly taxpayers must file their returns and pay their
liability electronically via the Ohio Business Gateway (business.ohio.gov).

How Do | Get Forms? Where May | Get Assistance if | Need Help?
You may get applications, forms and help by contacting the Ohio Department of Taxation via:

> Internet/E-mail
tax.ohio.gov

> By Phone
1-888-722-8829

> By Fax
1-614-644-9641

» Written Correspondence
P.O. Box 16158
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6158
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When Are the Tax Returns and Minimum Tax Due?

Annual taxpayers: Beginning in 2010, annual returns and the $150 minimum tax are due on May 10 of each
calendar year. For the 2006 calendar year, the minimum tax for that year was due May 10, 2006. For the
2007 and subsequent years, the minimum tax for that year is paid on the prior year’s annual return. For
2007-2009, the annual return and annual minimum tax was due on Feb. 9.

Quarterly taxpayers: Returns are due the 10th day of the second month following each tax period (first
quarter — May 10; second quarter — Aug. 10; third quarter — Nov. 10; fourth quarter — Feb. 10). Beginning
in 2010, the $150 annual minimum tax is paid with the first-quarter return for the current year. For the 2006
calendar year, the minimum tax was due May 10, 2006. For 2007-2009, the annual minimum tax for those
years was due by Feb. 9 of that year as part of the prior year’s fourth-quarter return.

For tax periods beginning on Jan. 1, 2014 and thereafter, the AMT will become a tiered structure, and tax-
payers will pay an amount that corresponds with their overall commercial activity. The taxpayer will utilize
its previous calendar year’s taxable gross receipts to determine the current year’'s AMT. Those taxpayers
with $1 million or less in taxable gross receipts will pay $150 AMT (no change). The AMT for taxpayers with
total taxable gross receipts of more than $1 million, but less than or equal to $2 million, will be $800; AMT
for taxpayers with taxable gross receipts more than $2 million, but less than or equal to $4 million, $2,100;
and AMT for taxpayers with taxable gross receipts in excess of $4 million, $2,600. Please refer to the chart
below.

Taxable Gross Receipts Annual Minimum Tax CAT
$1 Million or less $150 No Additional Tax
More than $1 Million but less than $800 0.26% x (Taxable Gross
or equal to $2 Million Receipts - $1 Million)
More than $2 Million but less than $2.100 0.26% x (Taxable Gross
or equal to $4 Million ’ Receipts - $1 Million)
- 0.26% x (Taxable Gross
More than $4 Million $2,600 Receipts - $1 Million)

Are There Penalties for Filing or Paying Taxes Late?

The tax commissioner may impose penalties for failure to timely file and pay the tax, including the ability to
conduct proceedings to revoke a person’s privilege or franchise to conduct business in this state.

Can Returns Be Amended?

Yes, returns can be amended. Beginning on Jan. 1, 2014, both annual and quarterly taxpayers are required
to file amended returns electronically via the Ohio Business Gateway (gateway.ohio.gov).
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Commercial Activity Tax Links

All forms can be found on the Forms page at tax.ohio.gov or by clicking the likes below
Ohio Form CAT 1, Commercial Activity Tax Registration — Click Here
Ohio Form CAT REF, Application for Commercial Activity Tax Refund — Click Here
Ohio Form CAT ES, Request to Change Election Status — Click Here
Ohio Form CAT AR, Add/Remove Members to/from a Group — Click Here
Ohio Form BAUF, Account’s Change in Mailing or Location Address Form — Click Here
Ohio Form CAT FF, Request to Change Filing Frequency — Click Here

Commercial Activity Tax Information Releases can be found at tax.ohio.gov.
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How Do You Make Corrections if an Error Is Made?
A. W-2or 1099R

An employer must furnish a corrected W-2 or 1099R if, after the original form has been given to an
employee, an error is discovered. Corrected statements should be clearly marked “CORRECTED BY
EMPLOYER” and one copy should be submitted to the Department of Taxation and two copies to the
employee. If the W-2 or 1099R is lost or destroyed, one must be submitted to the Ohio Department of
Taxation marked “REISSUED BY EMPLOYER” and two copies to the employee.

B. Overwithholding or Underwithholding — Quarterly, Monthly or Partial Weekly Payments
(Ohio form IT 501) and EFT Payments (Ohio form IT 942)

1. If the error is discovered in a subsequent period of the same calendar year, make the adjustment by
reducing or increasing the tax due on your next Ohio IT 501 or EFT payment.

2. If an error is discovered after the annual reconciliation Ohio IT 941 has been filed, complete an
amended reconciliation, Ohio IT 941X for that year. For EFT filers, file an amended Ohio IT 942, Ohio
Employer’s EFT 4th Quarter/Annual Reconciliation of Income Tax Withheld, through Ohio Business
Gateway.

How Do | Know How Much Ohio Income Tax To Withhold from Wages?

Withholding tables that show the amount of tax to be withheld based on the employee’s salary, number of
exemptions and how often you pay are available on pages 40-51 (refer to our Web site at tax.ohio.gov for
the most current tables).

What Are My Responsibilities as an Ohio Employer Withholding Agent?

Each withholding agent is liable for the tax required to be withheld. For purposes of assessment and col-
lection, amounts required to be withheld and paid to the Ohio Department of Taxation are considered to
be a tax on the employer. The officer or the employee having control or supervision of or charged with the
responsibility of filing the report and making payment shall be held personally liable for any failure to file the
report and/or pay the tax as required by law.

What About Penalties for Failure To Comply with Employer Withholding
Responsibilities?

If an employer fails to pay the tax deducted and withheld from employees by the due date, interest shall ac-
crue on the unpaid tax at the rate provided for under Ohio Revised Code section 5703.47. Interest on the tax
due is charged in addition to any penalty that may be incurred for late filing and/or late payment of a tax due.

If an employer fails to pay the tax deducted and withheld from employees’ compensation by the due date,
a penalty of 50% may be assessed on the tax due, unless it is shown the failure was for reasonable cause
and not willful neglect.

If a return, or the Ohio IT 501, IT 941, IT 942 or IT 3 is not filed, or is filed after the due date, the penalty is

the greater of: $50 per month up to a maximum of $500 or 5% per month up to a maximum of 50% of the
tax due.
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Ohio Municipal Net Profit Tax (MNP)
General Instructions and Information for Taxpayers

The enactment of Amended Substitute House Bill 49 (132nd
General Assembly) provides business taxpayers the option,
beginning with the 2018 tax year, to file one municipal
net profit tax return through the Ohio Business Gateway
for processing by the Ohio Department of Taxation (the
Department). The Department will handle all administrative
functions for those centrally-filed returns and will distribute
payments to the appropriate municipal corporations. The
Department will also handle audits, and appeals.

Currently, businesses are required to file separate returns
with each municipal corporation in which they conduct
business.

Registration (Opt-in) for Taxpayers
Taxpayers can register to file with the Department through
the Ohio Business Gateway at gateway.ohio.gov.

Taxpayers that choose to file with the Department must
make an election on or before the first day of the third month
of their taxable year. For example, taxpayers that operate
on a calendar year basis are required to opt-in to file with
the commissioner on or before March 1st of the taxable
year they intend to file with the Department. In making the
election, the taxpayer must register with the Department and
notify all municipal corporations that the taxpayer conducted
business in during the previous year. New businesses need
only register with the Department. The election will remain
in effect until terminated by the taxpayer.

Upon registering with the Department for the municipal
net profit tax, the registration applies to all municipal
corporations in which you are subject to the municipal net
profit tax. Only one return will be filed, with the Department,
for all municipal corporations and all payments will be made
to the Department.

The administration of the tax for periods prior to taxable
year 2018 and for periods which the taxpayer has not opted-
in with the Department will be handled by the applicable
municipal corporations or third- party administrators.

Ineligible Elections

Sole proprietors and disregarded entities are not eligible to
opt-in with the Department and should continue to file with
the appropriate municipal corporations. A disregarded entity
is a single-member limited liability company, a qualifying
subchapter S subsidiary, or another entity if the company,
subsidiary, or entity is a disregarded entity for federal
income tax purposes.

Methods of Notification to Municipalities

Form MNP-MN, Municipal Net Profit Tax — Municipality
Notification, is available for taxpayers to complete and
submit to the municipalities. Submission of this form would
fulfill the taxpayer’s obligation to notify the municipalities of
their election to opt-in with the Department. The Department
has also developed Form MNP-MNTP, Municipal Net Profit

Tax — Municipality Notification for Tax Preparers. This form
would be used in the instance when the tax preparer has
multiple taxpayers, in any given municipality, that have
all elected to opt-in with the Department. Both forms are
included in this booklet and are available onthe Department’s
website at tax.ohio.gov. Lastly, taxpayers may provide either
copies of the registration filed with the Department or the
registration confirmation letter the taxpayer received from
the Department. Any of these notification methodologies
satisfies the statutory requirements to notify a municipality
of a taxpayer’s intention to file with the Department.

In addition, upon registration, the taxpayer is asked whether
they grant the Department permission to list their company’s
information (name, address, FEIN) on the Department’s
website. This will allow municipal corporations to self-
serve to see who has opted-in. Only those taxpayers that
agree to this limited waiver of confidentiality will be listed.
Additionally, authorizing the Department to include a
company’s information on the website does not relieve the
taxpayer of their responsibility to notify the municipalities.

Electronic Filing / Payment

1. Electronic Filing — Municipal net profit taxpayers
are required to file each annual tax return and
declaration of estimated taxes electronically through
the Gateway at gateway.ohio.gov.

2. Electronic Payment — Municipal net profit taxpayers
are required to remit each tax payment electronically
either by ACH debit through the Gateway or by
electronic funds transfer (EFT) through the Ohio
Treasurer of State at tos.ohio.gov.

Declaration of Estimated Taxes (MNP ES)

Each quarter, taxpayers must submit a declaration of
estimated taxes for the current taxable year, unless the
estimated annual tax liability is less than two hundred
dollars ($200), in which case no estimated payments are
required for that year.

Payments of estimated taxes (the amount a taxpayer
reasonably estimates to be the total amount of its tax
liabilities to all municipal corporations for the taxable year)
for the current taxable year are due as follows:
1. 22.5% must be paid by the fifteenth day of the
fourth month of their taxable year.
2. 45% must be paid by the fifteenth day of the sixth
month of their taxable year.
3. 67.5% percent must be paid by the fifteenth day of
the ninth month of their taxable year.
4. 90% must be paid by the fifteenth day of the twelfth
month of their taxable year.

Taxpayers with a short table year must pay 90% of their
combined tax liability by the fifteenth day of the twelfth
month of their taxable year.

Please see Table 1 (pg. 45) to find the applicable due dates
based on your fiscal year-end.

If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the report or
payment is due the next business day.
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Any underpayment of estimated taxes can result in interest
penalty being added to the tax due. See R.C. 718.88. Any
remaining tax due must be remitted on or before the return
due date, without extension. The underpayment or late
payment of taxes due may result in interest and penalties.

Tax Return (MNP 10)

Ataxpayer must file an annual return for each taxable year it
has elected to file with the commissioner. Annual tax returns
are due on the fifteenth day of the fourth month following
the end of the taxpayer’s taxable year. See Table 2 (pg. 45)
for annual return due dates, which are based on your fiscal
year-end. A taxpayer may request a 6-month extension of
time to file. The extension request will be granted if it is
received by the commissioner on or before the due date
of the annual return or if the taxpayer has requested an
extension for filing the federal income tax return. Please
note, this is an extension of time to file not an extension of
time to pay.

A taxpayer that is a member of an affiliated group of
corporations may elect to file a consolidated tax return for
a taxable year if at least one member of the affiliated group
filed a consolidated federal income tax return for that taxable
year. An election to file a consolidated tax return is binding
for a period of five years unless a change in reporting is
required under federal law. The election is binding for each
subsequent five-year period unless the taxpayer elects to
discontinue filing a consolidated tax return on or before
the 15th day of the 4th month of the year following the last
year of a five-year consolidated tax return election period.
The binding five-year period created by an election to file
a consolidated return or an election to discontinue filing a
consolidated tax return is binding on the Department whether
the election was made with the municipal corporation or
with the Department. Any elections made with a municipal
corporation carry over to the administration of the tax by
the Department. The tax return filed with the Department
will allow a taxpayer to file a consolidated return in one
municipal corporation and on a separate basis in another
municipal corporation. If you wish to pursue this method of
filing, please contact the Department prior to registering.

If the three-factor apportionment formula does not fairly
represent the extent of your business activity in a municipal
corporation, you may request, or the tax commissioner
may require, that you use an alternative apportionment
method involving separate accounting, the exclusion or
inclusion of one or more factors, or a modification of one or
more factors. You must request alternative apportionment
in writing along with a tax return, timely-filed appeal of an
assessment, or timely-filed amended tax return. In the event
the Ohio Business Gateway is unable to accommodate your
requested alternative apportionment formula, you must file
a paper return along with a request detailing your chosen
apportionment method and an explanation as to why your
method more fairly represents the extent of your business
activity in a municipal corporation. If you have a formal or
informal agreement regarding alternative apportionment
with a municipal corporation, it is not binding on the tax

commissioner. You must request alternative apportionment
with the filing of your tax return. The tax commissioner
will consider each request on a case-by-case basis. If a
municipal corporation has agreed to allow the alternative
apportionment, that will be a significant factor considered
in evaluating the request and documentation of such prior
agreements should be provided with the request.

Currently taxpayers are not required to make a payment if
the amount of tax due is less than $10.01 to an individual
municipal corporation. The state administered return will
look at the total tax liability in all municipal corporations.
For example, if $5.00 is owed to three separate municipal
corporations, a $15.00 payment is required on the annual
tax return.

The annual tax return will include a box that the taxpayer
may check to authorize another person to communicate
with the Department about matters pertaining the tax return.
To authorize a representative to communicate with the
Department for other matters, the taxpayer may fill out a
form TBOR 1, Declaration of Tax Representative, available

at tax.ohio.gov.

Refunds (MNP REF)

Taxpayers can request refunds either on the tax return or
by using the refund claim form (MNP REF). The form MNP
REF can be found on our website at tax.ohio.gov.

Refund applications must be filed within three years of the
erroneous payment date and do not accrue interest if they
are processed within ninety days of the request date.

Assessments

If a taxpayer fails to file a return or pay any tax due in full,
the commissioner will send out a delinquency notice and/or
bill to cure any deficiency. If a taxpayer fails to resolve the
matter at the delinquency or billing stage, the commissioner
will issue a notice of assessment to the taxpayer for any
deficiency for the period the tax return or payment is due.

If an assessment is not paid in full within sixty days of the
day the assessment was issued, it may be certified to the
Ohio Attorney General’s Office for collection.

Appeals

A taxpayer that disagrees with any portion of a notice of
assessment may appeal the assessment by filing a petition
for reassessment with the commissioner within sixty days
of the date the taxpayer receives the assessment. If the
petition has been properly filed, the taxpayer may raise
additional objections in writing prior to the final determination
date. One of the Department’s hearing officers will schedule
an informal hearing with the taxpayer and/or the taxpayer’s
representative, which provides the taxpayer an opportunity
to present its arguments against the assessment notice.
Hearings may be held in person or via phone. A taxpayer
may waive its right to a hearing and may instead provide
documentation for consideration.
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After the hearing, the commissioner will review all
documentation provided and will issue a final determination
deciding the matter.

Taxpayers who disagree with a final determination can
appeal to the board of tax appeals. To do so, the taxpayer
should file a notice of appeal with both the board and the
commissioner within sixty days of the date of service of the
final determination.

Audit

Any municipal corporation may refer a taxpayer for audit
if the municipal corporation has additional information that
could result in a change of tax liability. The commissioner
will review the referral and may conduct an audit based on
that information. Please note, audits are not restricted to
referrals from municipal corporations and can be conducted
at the discretion of the commissioner.

The commissioner or any authorized agent may examine
the books, papers, records, and federal and state income
tax returns of any taxpayer filing the municipal net profit tax
with the Department by sending a written request to the
taxpayer. Taxpayers are required to preserve any records or
documents for six years following the end of a taxable year.

Contact Us
More information, including FAQs, can be found on the
Department’s website at tax.ohio.gov.

If you are interested in receiving Tax Alerts regarding the
municipal net profit tax, please subscribe at tax.ohio.gov.

For questions regarding the municipal net profit tax, please
contact the Department at 1-844-238-0403 or via email at
MNPTax@tax.state.oh.us.
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Table 1
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Month of First Quarter / Second Third Fourth
FY End Annual Return Quarter Quarter Quarter
December April 15 June 15 September 15 December 15

January May 15 July 15 October 15 January 15
February June 15 August 15 November 15 February 15

March July 15 September 15 December 15 March 15
April August 15 October 15 January 15 April 15
May September 15 November 15 February 15 May 15
June October 15 December 15 March 15 June 15
July November 15 January 15 April 15 July 15
August December 15 February 15 May 15 August 15
September January 15 March 15 June 15 September 15
October February 15 April 15 July 15 October 15
November March 15 May 15 August 15 November 15
Table 2
Month of Annual
FY End Return

December April 15

January May 15

February June 15

March July 15

April August 15

May September 15

June October 15

July November 15

August December 15

September January 15

October February 15

November March 15




Department of
Oth | Taxation

Phone: (844) 238-0403

Municipal Net Profit Tax
Municipality Notification

Legal name of member:

Trade name or DBA:

MNP MN
Rev. 03/19

FEIN:

Primary address:

Company contact:

Name Title

Phone No.

E-Mail Address

+  Check the box next to the municipalities included on your registration filed with the Ohio Department of Taxation.
If you file a consolidated return, please write a “C” instead of checking the box next to each municipality.
* Mail a copy of the completed form to all the applicable municipalities.

+ Consolidated filers: Please complete page 5 of this form.

Municipality Name

Municipality Name

Municipality Name

Municipality Name

ABERDEEN BELLVILLE CANAL FULTON COVINGTON

ADA BELPRE CANAL WINCHESTER CRESTLINE
ADDYSTON BENTLEYVILLE CANFIELD CRESTON

ADELPHI BEREA CANTON CRIDERSVILLE
AKRON BERKSHIRE TOWNSHIP JEDD CARDINGTON CROOKSVILLE
ALGER BETHEL CAREY CUYAHOGA FALLS
ALLIANCE BETTSVILLE CARLISLE CUYAHOGA FALLS BOSTON TWP
AMANDA BEVERLY CARROLL JEDD

AMBERLEY BEXLEY CARROLLTON CUYAHOGA HEIGHTS
AMELIA BLENDON TOWNSHIP JEDZ CATAWBA CYGNET

AMHERST BLOOMDALE CECIL DALTON
AMSTERDAM BLOOMINGDALE CEDARVILLE DANVILLE

ANDOVER BLOOMVILLE CELINA DARBYVILLE

ANNA BLUE ASH CENTERBURG DAYTON

ANSONIA BLUFFTON CENTERVILLE - MONTGOMERY DAYTON MALL JEDD
ANTWERP BOLIVAR CHAGRIN FALLS DAYTON BUTLER TWP JEDD
APPLE CREEK BOSTON HEIGHTS CHARDON DAYTON MIAMI TWP JEDD
ARCANUM BOSTON TWP / PENINSULA JEDD CHESTERVILLE DEER PARK
ARCHBOLD BOTKINS CHEVIOT DEFIANCE
ARLINGTON BOWERSTON CHILLICOTHE DEGRAFF
ARLINGTON HEIGHTS BOWLING GREEN CINCINNATI DELAWARE
ASHLAND BRADFORD CIRCLEVILLE DELPHOS

ASHLEY BRADNER CIRCLEVILLE PICKAWAY TWP JEDD DELTA

ASHTABULA BRADY LAKE CLARKSVILLE DENNISON
ASHTABULA TOWNSHIP JEDD BRATENAHL CLAY CENTER DESHLER

ASHVILLE BRECKSVILLE CLAYTON DOVER

ATHENS BREMEN CLAYTON TOWNSHIP JEDD DOYLESTOWN
AURORA BREWSTER CLEVELAND DRESDEN

AUSTIN CENTER JEDD BRICE CLEVELAND HEIGHTS DUBLIN

AVON BRIMFIELD-KENT JEDD CLINTON DUNKIRK

AVON LAKE BRIMFIELD-TALLMADGE JEDD CLINTON GRANDVIEW HEIGHTS EAST CANTON
BAINBRIDGE-SOLON JEDD BROADVIEW HEIGHTS JEDZ EAST CLEVELAND
BALTIC BROOK PARK CLYDE EAST LIVERPOOL
BALTIMORE BROOKLYN COAL GROVE EAST PALESTINE
BARBERTON BROOKLYN HEIGHTS COLDWATER EASTLAKE
BARNESVILLE BROOKVILLE COLERAIN TWP LIBERTY NURSING EATON
BARNESVILLE JEDD 1 BRUNSWICK HC JEDD EATON JEDD
BARNESVILLE JEDD 2 BRYAN COLUMBIA TOWNSHIP JEDZ EDGERTON

BATAVIA BUCKLAND COLUMBIANA EDISON
BATH-AKRON-FAIRLAWN JEDD BUCYRUS COLUMBUS EDON

BAY VILLAGE BURTON COLUMBUS GROVE ELIDA

BEACH CITY BUTLER COMMERCIAL POINT ELMORE
BEACHWOOD BUTLER COUNTY ANNEX CONESVILLE ELMWOOD PLACE
BEACHWOOD EAST JEDD BUTLER TWP - VANDALIA JEDD CONNEAUT ELYRIA
BEACHWOOD WEST JEDD BUTLER TOWNSHIP JEDZ CONTINENTAL ELYRIA JEDD
BEAVERDAM BYESVILLE CONVOY EMERALD PARK
BEDFORD CADIZ COPLEY-AKRON JEDD EMPIRE

BEDFORD HEIGHTS CAIRO CORWIN ENGLEWOOD
BELLAIRE CALDWELL COSHOCTON ETNA JEDZ1 - NORTH
BELLE CENTER CAMBRIDGE COSHOCTON FRANKLIN JEDD ETNA JEDZ2 - SOUTH
BELLEFONTAINE CAMDEN COSHOCTON TUSCARARWAS JEDD EUCLID

BELLEVUE CAMPBELL COVENTRY-AKRON JEDD EVENDALE
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Legal Name: FEIN:

MNP MN
Rev. 03/19

Municipality Name

Municipality Name

Municipality Name

Municipality Name

FAIRBORN HARPERSFIELD-GENEVA JEDD | LIMA MIFFLIN
FAIRFAX HARPERSFIELD-GENEVA JEDD II LINCOLN HEIGHTS MILAN
FAIRFIELD HARPERSFIELD-GENEVA JEDD Il LINNDALE MILFORD
FAIRLAWN HARRISBURG LISBON MILFORD CENTER
FAIRPORT HARBOR HARRISON LITHOPOLIS MILFORD CITY JEDD
FAIRVIEW PARK HARRISON TOWNSHIP JEDD LOCKBOURNE MILFORD CITY JEDD Il
FARMERSVILLE HARROD LOCKLAND MILFORD CITY JEDD IIl
FAYETTE HARTVILLE LODI MILFORD CITY JEDD IV
FELICITY HASKINS LOGAN MILLBURY
FINDLAY HEATH LONDON MILLER CITY
FOREST HEBRON LORAIN MILLERSBURG
FOREST PARK HICKSVILLE LORDSTOWN MILLERSPORT
FORT JENNINGS HIGHLAND HEIGHTS LOUDONVILLE MINERAL CITY
FORT LORAMIE HIGHLAND HILLS LOUISVILLE MINERVA
FORT RECOVERY HIGHLAND HILLS JEDZ LOVELAND MINERVA PARK
FOSTORIA HILLIARD LOWELLVILLE MINGO JUNCTION
FRANKLIN HILLSBORO LUCKEY MINSTER
FRAZEYSBURG HIRAM LYNDHURST MOGADORE
FREDERICKSBURG HOLLAND LYONS MONCLOVA-MAUMEE-TOLEDO
FREDERICKTOWN HOLLAND SPRINGFIELD TWP. JEDZ LYTLE FIVE POINTS JEDD JEDZ
FREMONT HOPEDALE MACEDONIA MONCLOVA-SWANTON-TOLEDO
GAHANNA HUBBARD MACEDONIA NORTHFIELD CENTER AIRPORT JEDD
GALENA HUBER HEIGHTS TWP JEDD MONCLOVA-WHITEHOUSE JEDD
GALION HUDSON MADEIRA MONROE
GALLIPOLIS HUNTING VALLEY MADISON TWP JEDD MONROEVILLE
GAMBIER HUNTSVILLE MADISON VILLAGE MONTGOMERY
GARFIELD HEIGHTS HURON MAINEVILLE MONTPELIER
GARRETTSVILLE INDEPENDENCE MALINTA MORAINE
GATES MILLS INDIAN HILL MALTA MORELAND HILLS
GENEVA IRONTON MALVERN MORRAL
GENEVA-ON-LAKE IX CENTER MANCHESTER MORROW
GENOA JACKSON MANSFIELD MOUNT CORY
GEORGETOWN JACKSON CENTER MANTUA MOUNT EATON
GERMANTOWN JAMESTOWN MAPLE HEIGHTS MOUNT GILEAD
GETTYSBURG JEFFERSON MARBLE CLIFF MOUNT HEALTHY
GIBSONBURG JEFFERSONVILLE MARENGO MOUNT ORAB
GIRARD JERRY CITY MARIEMONT MOUNT STERLING
GLANDORF JEWETT MARIETTA MOUNT VERNON
GLENWILLOW JOHNSTOWN MARION MOUNT VICTORY
GNADENHUTTEN KALI DA MARSHALLVILLE MUNROE FALLS
GOLF MANOR KENT MARTINS FERRY NAPOLEON
GRAFTON KENT FRANKLIN JEDD MARYSVILLE NAVARRE
GRAND RAPIDS KENTON MASON NELSONVILLE
GRAND RIVER KETTERING MASSILLON NEW ALBANY
GRANDVIEW HEIGHTS KETTLERSVILLE MAUMEE NEW BAVARIA
GRANVILLE KILLBUCK MAYFIELD NEW BLOOMINGTON
GRATIS KIRBY MAYFIELD HEIGHTS NEW BOSTON
GREEN KIRKERSVILLE MCCLURE NEW BREMEN
GREEN SPRINGS KIRTLAND MCCOMB NEW CARLISLE
GREEN TWP- CHEVIOT JEDD 2 LAGRANGE MCCONNELSVILLE NEW CONCORD
GREEN TWP- CHEVIOT JEDD 3 LAKE TOWNSHIP-TOLEDO JEDD MCDONALD NEW FRANKLIN
GREEN TWP- CHEVIOT JEDD 4 LAKELINE MCGUFFEY NEW KNOXVILLE
GREEN TWP- CHEVIOT JEDD 5 LAKEMORE MECHANICSBURG NEW LEBANON
GREEN TWP - WESTERN RIDGE LAKEVIEW MEDINA NEW LEXINGTON
JEDD LAKEWOOD MEDINA MONTVILLE JEDD NEW LONDON
GREENFIELD LANCASTER MELROSE NEW MADISON
GREENHILLS LEBANON MENTOR NEW MIAMI
GREENVILLE LEBANON-TURTLECREEK JEDD MENTOR-ON-LAKE NEW PARIS
GREENWICH LEESBURG METAMORA NEW PHILADELPHIA
GROVE CITY LEETONIA MIAMI TWP. DAYTON MALL JEDD NEW RICHMOND
GROVEPORT LEIPSIC MIAMISBURG NEW RIEGEL
HAMILTON LEWISBURG MIDDLE POINT NEW WASHINGTON
HAMILTON FAIRFIELD TWP. JEDD | LEXINGTON MIDDLEBURG HEIGHTS NEW WATERFORD
HAMILTON FAIRFIELD TWP. JEDD I LIBERTY CENTER MIDDLEFIELD NEWARK
HAMILTON INDIAN SPRINGS JEDD | LIBERTY TOWNSHIP JEDD | MIDDLEPORT NEWBURGH HEIGHTS
HAMLER LIBERTY TWP-LIBERTY CENTER MIDDLETOWN NEWCOMERSTOWN
HANOVER JEDD MIDVALE NEWTON FALLS
Page 2
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Legal Name: FEIN:

Municipality Name Municipality Name Municipality Name Municipality Name
NEWTONSVILLE PIQUA SIDNEY UNION CITY
NEWTOWN PLAIN CITY SILVER LAKE UNION TWP - MILFORD JEDD 1
NEY PLEASANT HILL SILVERTON UNION TWP - MILFORD JEDD 2
NILES PLEASANTVILLE SMITHFIELD UNION TWP - MILFORD JEDD 3
NORTH BALTIMORE PLYMOUTH SMITHVILLE UNION TWP - MILFORD JEDD 4
NORTH CANTON POMERQY SOLON UNION TWP - MILFORD JEDD 5
NORTH COLLEGE HILL PORT CLINTON SOUTH AMHERST UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS
NORTH KINGSVILLE PORT WASHINGTON SOUTH BLOOMFIELD UPPER ARLINGTON
NORTH LEWISBURG PORTAGE SOUTH CHARLESTON UPPER SANDUSKY
NORTH OLMSTED PORTSMOUTH SOUTH EUCLID URBANA
NORTH PERRY POWELL SOUTH LEBANON URBANCREST
NORTH PICKAWAY COUNTY JEDD POWHATAN POINT SOUTH RUSSELL UTICA
NORTH RANDALL PRAIRIE OBETZ JEDZ SOUTH SOLON VALLEY HI
NORTH RIDGEVILLE PRAIRIE TOWNSHIP JEDD SOUTH VIENNA VALLEY VIEW - CUYAHOGA
NORTH ROBINSON QUINCY SOUTH ZANESVILLE VAN WERT
NORTH ROYALTON RAVENNA SPENCERVILLE VANDALIA
NORTH STAR READING SPENCER-WHITEHOUSE JEDZ VANLUE
NORTHFIELD REMINDERVILLE SPRINGBORO VERMILION
NORTHWOOD REMINDERVILLE-TWINSBURG TWP SPRINGDALE VILLAGE OF HIGHLAND HILLS MUNI
NORTON JEDD SPRINGFIELD UTILITY DISTRICT
NORWALK REYNOLDSBURG SPRINGFIELD BECKLEY MUNI VERSAILLES
NORWOOD RICHFIELD AIRPARK JEDD WADSWORTH
OAK HARBOR RICHFIELD JEDD SPRINGFIELD TOWNSHIP JEDD 1 WAKEMAN
OAK HILL RICHMOND HEIGHTS SPRINGFIELD TOWNSHIP JEDZ WALBRIDGE
OAKWOOD - CUYAHOGA RICHWOOD SPRINGFIELD-AKRON JEDD WALTON HILLS
OAKWOOD - MONTGOMERY RIDGEWAY STEUBENVILLE WALTON HILLS-SAGAMORE HILLS
OAKWOOD - PAULDING RIO GRANDE STONE CREEK TWP JEDD
OBERLIN RIPLEY STOUTSVILLE WAPAKONETA
OBETZ RITTMAN STOW WARREN
QOCTA RIVERSIDE STRASBURG WARRENSVILLE HEIGHTS
OHIO CITY ROCK CREEK STRATTON WARRENSVILLE HEIGHTS JEDZ
OLMSTED FALLS ROCKFORD STREETSBORO WASHINGTON C. H.
ONTARIO ROCKY RIVER STRONGSVILLE WATERVILLE
ORANGE ROSEVILLE STRUTHERS WAUSEON
ORANGE CHAGRIN HIGHLANDS ROSSFORD STRYKER WAVERLY
JEDD ROSSFORD-TOLEDO JEDZ SUGAR GROVE WAYNE
OREGON ROSWELL SUGARCREEK WAYNE LAKES
ORRVILLE RUSH TWP. UHRICHSVILLE JEDD SUNBURY WAYNESFIELD
ORWELL RUSHSYLVANIA SWANTON WAYNESVILLE
OSGOOD RUSSELLS POINT SYCAMORE WELLINGTON
OSTRANDER RUSSIA SYCAMORE TWP CENTRAL JEDZ WELLSTON
OTTAWA SABINA SYCAMORE TWP EAST JEDZ WELLSVILLE
OTTAWA HILLS SAINT BERNARD SYCAMORE TWP NW JEDZ WEST ALEXANDRIA
OTTOVILLE SAINT CLAIRSVILLE SYCAMORE TWP SW JEDZ WEST CARROLLTON
OWENSVILLE SAINT HENRY SYLVANIA WEST CHESTER JEDD 1
OXFORD SAINT LOUISVILLE SYLVANIA-TOLEDO JEDZ WEST ELKTON
PAINESVILLE SAINT MARYS TALLMADGE WEST JEFFERSON
PANDORA SAINT PARIS THURSTON WEST LAFAYETTE
PARMA SALEM SYCAMORE TOWNSHIP KEN WEST LIBERTY
PARMA HEIGHTS SALINEVILLE WOOD-SOUTHWEST JEDZ WEST MANSFIELD
PATASKALA SANDUSKY TIPP CITY WEST MILTON
PATASKALA JEDD SARDINIA TIRO WEST SALEM
PATTERSON SAYBROOK TOWNSHIP JEDD TOLEDO WEST UNION
PAULDING SCIO TONTOGANY WEST UNIITY
PAYNE SCIOTO TOWNSHIP JEDD TORONTO WESTERVILLE
PEMBERVILLE SEBRING TREMONT CITY WESTFIELD CENTER
PENINSULA SEVEN HILLS TRENTON WESTLAKE
PEPPER PIKE SEVILLE TRIMBLE WESTON
PERRY SHAKER HEIGHTS TROTWOOD WHITEHALL
PERRY JEDD SHARONVILLE TROY WHITEHOUSE
PERRYSBURG SHAWNEE HILLS TROY TOWNSHIP-TOLEDO JEDD WICKLIFFE
PERRYSBURG TWP.-TOLEDO JEDZ SHEFFIELD TURTLECREEK-MONROE RACE- WILLARD
PERRYSVILLE SHEFFIELD LAKE WAY JEDD WILLIAMSBURG
PHILLIPSBURG SHELBY TUSCARAWAS WILLAMSPORT
PICKERINGTON SHERRODSVILLE TWINSBURG WILLOUGHBY
PIKETON SHERWOOD UHRICHSVILLE WILLOUGHBY HILLS
PIONEER SHREVE UNION WILLOWICK
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WILLSHIRE

WILMINGTON

WILMOT

WINDHAM

WINTERSVILLE

WOODLAWN

WOODMERE

WOODSFIELD

WOODSTOCK

WOOSTER

WORTHINGTON

WYOMING

XENIA

XENIA TWP CITY OF XENIA JEDD 1

YELLOW SPRINGS

YOUNGSTOWN

YOUNGSTOWN GIRARD JEDZ

ZANESVILLE

Page 4
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MNP EST

Ohi Department of Prescribed 1/18
0 Taxation

P.O. Box 167153
Columbus, OH 43216-5158
(844 2350403

Municipal Net Profit Declaration of Estimated Taxes

Account number, FEIN

Estimated Payment D First quarter DSecond quarter D Third quarter D Fourth quarter

Company name

Address (number and street)

City State ZIP code
Net Profit Estimated Taxes and Estimated Payments
For calendar year_________ or fiscal year beginning date e aNd ending date
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Muni M uni Estimated Annual | Prior Year Credit |Estimated Amounts | Balarce of Estimated Payment
Code MName Tax Liability Carry Forward Previously Paid Annual Tax Due Due
Totals

Mail to: Chio Dept. of Taxation, PO. Box 16158, Columbus, OH 43216-6158

Sign Here (required): | have read this declaration. Under penalties of perjury, | declare that, to the best of my knowledge
and belief, the declaration is true, correct and complete.

Taxpayer or authorized preparer's signature Title

Printed name Date (MM/DD/YY)
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Payment Schedule

MNP EST
Prescribed 1/18
Page 2

1 2 3 4 5 5 7
Muni Muni Estimated Annual | Prior Year Credit |Estimated Amounts | Balance of Estimated Payment
Code Name Tax Liability Carry Forward Previously Faid Arinual Tax Due Due

Totals

Make additional copies of this schedule as necessary
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